all-in

IMG_4090

White chocolate.  White chocolate and lime.

IMG_4080

Those were the instructions given me by Best Friend and I ran with it.  When I start coming up with recipes for an ingredient, I don’t stop at just one.   I keep testing and trying and making and baking.  I definitely go all-in.  As in, buy-the-giant-bag-of-white-chocolate-chips-from-Sam’s kinda all-in.  If you’ve followed this blog for any time at all, you have probably already discovered that: I’ll have a series of blueberry recipes and now white chocolate and expect variations on the chocolate cupcake sometime in the future.  If I were better at this, I’d mix them up but I’m not and I’m impatient about sharing stuff.  So go ahead and buy that bag of white chocolate chips from Sam’s – you’re going to need them this month…

IMG_4074

IMG_4086

Sometimes things work out for me, sometimes they don’t.  I had an epic lime shortbread failure followed by an epic white chocolate shortbread win.  There is no middle ground – it’s all or nothin.  And then there are these.  Which is DEFINITELY an all-in situation.  I started with a basic blondie, added browned butter and white chocolate but just couldn’t stop myself and threw in some key lime syrup for good measure.

IMG_4091

Sweet baby mittens, that might have been the best idea I’ve ever had.  Husband said he liked them just fine without the syrup (and they are just fine), but I couldn’t get enough of the sweet/tart thing going on when a gooey blondie got even gooier with some fresh summer key limes.  I had to box them up and get them in the mail quickly before I ate them all and there were none left for Best Friend.  And her getting white chocolate and lime was kind of the whole point in the beginning

text

browned butter white chocolate blondies with lime syrup

blondies:
1/2 C butter
2/3 C pure cane white sugar
2/3 C pure cane brown sugar
2 eggs, room temperature
2 tsp vanilla
2 1/4 C flour
1/2 tsp salt
2/3 C white chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350
2. In small skillet, heat butter over medium-low heat, stirring frequently, until butter turns a rich golden brown color (make sure it doesn’t burn!). Allow to cool slightly and then pour into medium bowl.
2. Cream together browned butter and sugars.
3. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each. Stir in vanilla.
4. Gradually add flour and salt and mix until combined.
5. Fold in white chocolate chips.
6. Press into a well-greased pan. I used an 8×8 and they were perfect (because I like mine gooey in the middle) but thick – this would easily fill up a 9×13 pan if you prefer your blondies done in the middle.
7. Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes or until top is starting to brown (think chocolate chip cookie done-ness).
8. Allow to cool and then cut into bars

key lime simple syrup:
2/3 C water
2/3 C superfine baker’s sugar (regular white sugar would work just fine)
3 T key lime juice

1. In small saucepan, heat water and sugar over medium heat, stirring frequently until it begins to simmer.
2. Keep going until the mixture has thickened sightly (think syrup viscosity)
3. Remove from heat and allow to cool to room temperature. Whisk in lime juice.
4. Drizzle over blondies and enjoy a great summer treat!

IMG_4072

chalkboard profile

Like this recipe?  Try these:

20120706-113714.jpg

m&m blondies

text

mango lime white chocolate truffles

20120516-220359.jpg

white chocolate lemon cookies

One thought on “all-in

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

