and just like that | cooks in the kitchen challenge

text

This week we’re mourning the loss of a great help in our lives: the internet.  After 2 months of paying 4 times the price we were quoted, dealing with horrific customer service, and receiving 1/4 of the promised speed, we said bye-bye to our internet service.  That math just wasn’t adding up for us so just like that….internet-less.  Again.  And with no promise of return since the service we had was the only service available in our area.  Which means, the coffee shop down the road is probably going to permanently write my name on my chair there and the Saurus will start keeping his toys and snacks under the counter and I’ll be blogging a lot less.  Not gone, just less.  Until the magical day when some other company decides to provide internet to our sweet farmhouse.

IMG_4044

We have been busy, though!  I’ve been filling orders like mad for the shop (after all of the weddings for which I made invitations have happened, I’ll start sharing the designs – each one is better than the last!), after mowing an acre our poor lawnmower (conveniently) gave up the ghost so we had to hire a lawn service – best money we’ve ever spent, the Saurus is keeping us in stiches and is growing by leaps and bounds (until it’s time for bed, then he turns into a cuddly baby again), and we’ve been very slowly making our house a home – our first project is the master closet – should it ever be completed, I’ll share pictures.

IMG_4038

Being unplugged is really not a bad gig, except that we’ve grown accustomed to it.  I’ve grown used to working for a few minutes after the Saurus goes to bed and we’ve grown used to Netflix and YouTube and Skype.  But it’s okay.  It gives me more time to bake!  I guess it gives me more time to do things like clean the house but that doesn’t sound like much fun.

IMG_4040

I escaped to civilization this afternoon (after sweating out 98% of my body mass at hot yoga – why is an hour of yoga so hard?!) to share my newest kitchen creation: gluten-free blueberry scones.   Yummy!  Few things get me out of bed faster than a cup of coffee and promise of scones – especially gluten-free ones! After a morning that needed some scones, I looked through my pantry and came up with these. Because extra blueberry pie filling and mascarpone cheese are things I normally have on-hand. That’s not a joke. Really, I do. But if you’re not that kind of person, sub out blueberry jam and cream cheese or something like that. You really can’t mess these up.

IMG_4045

gluten-free blueberry mascarpone scones

baker’s note: these are AMAZING fresh but don’t keep so eat them up right away! Or refrigerate the dough you’re not going to use so that you can always have them fresh. Also, I totally just threw everything into my food processor one time because I’m lazy and it worked and they were yummy but if you want to do it the right way (aka, follow the instructions), then the consistency is better.

1/2 C pure cane brown sugar
1/2 C oat flour
1/2 C almond flour
1/2 C sweet rice flour
1/4 C sorghum flour
2 Tbsp potato starch
2 tsp baking powder (gluten-free)
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp xanthan gum
1/2 tsp salt

6 Tbsp cold butter
4 oz mascarpone cheese

1/3 C cream
2 tsp vanilla
1 egg, beaten

1 C fresh blueberries, rinsed and dried
1/4 C blueberry pie filling (gluten-free – I use something along the lines of this recipe)
a few tablespoons raw sugar for topping

1. Preheat oven to 400
2. In a large bowl, whisk together the first eleven ingredients.
3. Cut in cold butter until crumbly.
4. Stir in cream, vanilla, and the egg and mix until dough forms evenly.
5. Fold in blueberries, pie filling, and mascarpone. I like to leave everything a little streaky so that you get some really fun bites of scone, but it’s your call.
6. Roll out dough between two sheets of parchment paper until it’s about an inch thick and roughly a rectangle shape. Slide the whole thing onto a cookie sheet and remove the top sheet of parchment paper.
7. Using a pizza cutter or plastic knife, cut the scones unto triangles but don’t move the pieces. You’re just “scoring” them so they’re easier to break apart after baking.
8. Sprinkle liberally with raw sugar and bake at 400 for 15-20 minutes or until beginning to turn golden.
9. Break apart, pour yourself a cup of coffee, and just like that – breakfast….

IMG_4041

Don’t forget to admire all of the yummy blueberry-ness in the other recipes in the challenge! Can’t wait for next month – tomatoes!

4 thoughts on “and just like that | cooks in the kitchen challenge

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

