diy americana banner

text

IMG_3956

Our new house is empty.  Like really empty.  Husband and I never really realized that we were living with bachelor pad furniture until we moved here and realized that half of our house is empty and the other half is filled with Ikea.  Not that it’s a bad thing, but I’m slowly trying to add little things that make this amazing house feel like home for as cheap as possible.  In keeping with our farmhouse theme and this time of year, I made a little flag banner for our fireplace mantle.  It took about 30 minutes and less than $5 since I already had a lot of the supplies.  I’ll take that any day.

IMG_3954

IMG_3961

I found some pre-cut blank muslin pennants at Hobby Lobby that just happened to be 50% off. Win!  I made a color wash using equal parts acrylic paint (that I already had) and water and quickly painted them.  I have the patience of a toddler so I didn’t want to take the time to sketch anything out and so just free-handed it.  I would recommend at least drawing lines on the striped ones so that your lines are mostly straight.  Other than that, it’s up to you!

IMG_3955

After they dried, I used some thin blue burlap ribbon from my giant box o’ ribbon and thumbtacked it to the mantle.  Voila! Toddler art that created by adults.  Oh, and don’t mind the random stack of movies or messy TV cords….it is mildly related to the lack-of-furniture problem….

IMG_3957

How do you decorate for the seasons?

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

