my freezer is now full of citrus | cooks in the kitchen challenge

textIMG_3445

It’s month two of the Cooks in the Kitchen Challenge and it tastes like spring!

Make sure and see all of the other lime recipes here!APRIL'S-CHALLENGEIMG_3442
My mom taught me a trick about using frozen limes and lemons in foods, rather than just juice and zest and now I’m obsessed – I probably won’t be using any other method. Ever. And now my freezer is constantly stocked with frozen citrus. Ooo – I wonder if this works with oranges?! I’ll have to try that. Stay tuned. Anyway, all you do is freeze a lime, and then finely grate the whole thing. Yup, the whole thing. Crazy, right? But it works beautifully and since it’s frozen, it’s super easy. You’re welcome.

IMG_3430 IMG_3441
Now, about these truffles: I’ve been going a little crazy with the limes. It’s just that once I got started thinking of lime recipes, I just couldn’t stop. Something about lime just seems so fresh and spring-timey and perfect with pretty much anything.  I love making truffles because a) they’re super easy and b) they’re gluten-free without even trying and c) you can make and serve on different days.  Oh, and if you mess one up, there are two dozen more so no one will ever know.  Pretty much recipe perfection, if you ask me.

IMG_3431
IMG_3444
mango lime truffles

baker’s note: these truffles stay pretty creamy (read: sometimes hard to handle) so in order to work with them easily, enlist the help of your freezer. I’ll explain more in the steps below.

1/4 C heavy cream
1 C white chocolate, chopped
1 lime, frozen & finely grated
2 Tbsp pureed mango
powdered sugar, for rolling
white melting chocolate, for dipping – one package of ghirardelli melting wafers should work
garnish of choice

1. Place chopped white chocolate in a heat-proof bowl. Heat cream in a small saucepan to just before boiling.
2. Remove the cream from heat and pour over the white chocolate. Stir quickly until the chocolate is completely melted.
3. Stir in the pureed mango and grated lime.
4. Pop the ganache mixture (this is what you just made) in the freezer for a couple of hours or until stable.
5. Scoop out the ganache and form into balls. I found the easiest way to do this is to use a small cookie scoop and scoop out a bit and plop it in a bowl of powdered sugar. Lightly coat the ball in powdered sugar and place on a cookie sheet. After you’ve done this with all of the ganache, pop the whole tray in the freezer for at least 30 minutes to re-harden. (see photo below)
6. Melt your white chocolate according to package directions and cover each frozen ball of ganache. It’s important to cover it all since the ganache needs the hard chocolate layer to keep its shape.
7. Garnish as desired before the chocolate hardens. I used toasted coconut and chopped pecans because that’s what I had on hand but I think anything would be amazing – macadamia nuts, sprinkles, etc.
8. Enjoy!

IMG_3414
IMG_3416

And because no recipe is complete without a Saurus update, here he is “helping” me take photos.  Such a helpful guy.  He also loves helping fold clothes.  He’s amazing – he can get them all out of the basket in under 10 seconds and “folded” all across the house in under a minute.  Such a smart cookie.

IMG_3440

4 thoughts on “my freezer is now full of citrus | cooks in the kitchen challenge

  1. Pingback: strawberry basil tiramisu | cooks in the kitchen challenge | chuck and welly

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

