invisibility and cherry limeade

IMG_3427
I’ve been trying to make an effort to wear real people clothes and make-up rather than just putting on sweatpants when I get home from work. I didn’t think Husband noticed but I suppose he must have because when I wore comfy pants, this happened:

Husband: Bummer, the invisibility pants.
Me: What are you talking about?
Husband: Your pants. They make you invisible. It’s like, I have a hot wife and then you put on those pants and whoosh! she disappears.
Me: They’re sweatpants. They’re comfy. I like them. I’m still wearing make-up.
Husband: You’re invisible to me. Blankets, too. Blankets make you invisible. Oh, and hospital gowns. You do not look cute in hospital gowns.
Me: Thank you for that – how could you tell I needed a confidence boost today?
Husband: Yup. I mean, it’s okay for you to wear them. You’re just invisible to me. Wear them all you want, I just can’t see you.
Me: What about yoga pants? My scrubs?
Husband: Not invisible. Not even a little. It’s like a neon sign.
Me: These pants are tighter than yoga pants. My yoga pants are old and ratty. These are really nice and cute and cozy.
Husband: Doesn’t matter. Sweatpants are your cloak of invisibility.
Me: You’re so weird. These sweatpants are from Victoria’s Secret. What about those baggy jeans and old t-shirts and giant sweaters I wear? Those are very, very un-sexy. What about when I don’t wear make-up and brush my hair? What about when I get up at 2am with Saurus and have drool dried on my face?
Husband: Nope. I like those things. It’s pretty much just the pants.
Me: There is something wrong with you.
Husband: Ya, I have a pretty wife who likes to be invisible.

I maintain he’s being ridiculous and my pants are fine and comfortable and much cuter than old t-shirts and scrubs. But being invisible has become a joke in the Hunter House now. Whenever I’m getting ready, rather than ask if I look okay, I’ll ask for my ranking on the invisibility scale. But then I have to ask the follow-up question about whether I’m dressed appropriately for public or not. Because I really don’t trust Husband’s opinion about such things. I really don’t. It’s not that I own things inappropriate for public, it’s just that Husband sometimes thinks swimsuits are okay for shopping and I think not.

IMG_3418

That story really has nothing to do with this recipe except that I thought it was funny and both sweatpants and cherry limeades are in my list of favorite things.

IMG_3420

When I was growing up, Sonic was a gourmet restaurant.  Mostly because it also happened to be pretty much the only thing our town offered as far as dining-out experiences were concerned.  Ahh, small-towns in Texas.  You’re not a town without a Sonic or a Dairy Queen.  And if you have both, then you’ve really made it.  And a traffic light that changes colors?  You might as well be in Dallas.

IMG_3421

Going to get a cherry limeade at Sonic after school was such a treat and firmly cemented cherry limeades as one of my all-time favorite beverages.  Now that the weather is warming up, I wanted to bring a little of those good memories to our house with some cherry limeade sorbet.  It’s like Sonic, except better.  Because you eat it with a spoon and then there’s still some left in your freezer.  Thanks to the good people at Republic Spirit Blends for helping me out with a great ingredient! I love Texas.

text

cherry limeade sorbet

baker’s note: I tried doing this in the ice cream maker and it didn’t turn out at all like I was hoping – I prefer the simple freezing method.

1 C water
2/3 C sugar
1 jar maraschino cherries, without stems
1 C tart cherry juice
2 Tbsp Republic Spirit Blends Classic Lime syrup

1. In a small saucepan, boil the water and sugar, stirring occasionally, until the sugar is completely dissolved. Set aside to cool.
2. Puree the jar of maraschino cherries. Yup, the whole thing, juice and all. (This is why it’s important to not have stems).
3. Pour the puree through a strainer to get out any little pieces of cherry that might be left. If you like chunks of cherry, then don’t bother straining.
4. Stir the strained cherry juice, the tart cherry juice, and the lime syrup into the sugar-water.
5. Put in the freezer for a few hours, stirring occasionally. If your mixture starts to get too icy and hard, stir in just a wee bit (like 1-2 tsp) of alcohol. I’d use something like cherry-flavored vodka or Grand Marnier. The alcohol will keep the mixture from freezing completely so it will stay creamy and soft and won’t affect the flavor but don’t use too much or it won’t freeze at all. I didn’t need any in my recipe this time.
6. Scoop and serve! And eat fast before it melts! Or just wait until it melts and drink it

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

