top o’ the mornin’

I wanted to make a really cool cake for St. Patrick’s Day.

Making an ombre layer cake is one of the next items in my recipe notebook. But then….I realized 1) that I probably won’t be able to get it done in time for the 17th, 2) I don’t have anyone to eat this cake, and 3) i am baker just did this. And it’s pretty much exactly what I had planned. Except she did it better. And prettier. I need to take a cake decorating class….

Who knows, maybe I’ll get around to it anyway, but just in case…I dug through the archives and came up with my favorite festive recipes, all in one place. And by festive, I mean cakes involving beer. If I had any cakes involving leprechauns or pots of gold, I would have included those. But I don’t, so beer it is! I have a feeling St. Patty’s day is supposed to be about more than beer and wearing green but Wikipedia didn’t tell me much else except that Saint Patrick was a pretty nice dude, it’s about Irish heritage, and we should be wearing blue instead. The more you know.

Also, I made you a printable:  St Patricks Day.  Because I learned how so now feel compelled to do so.

SPD printable

Keep in mind, some of these are pretty old…like back-when-I-used-an-iPhone-as-a-camera old…you have been warned. Maybe if you make some you can send me better pictures and I’ll replace these ugly ones. I like that plan. Let’s do that.

SPD

clockwise from top left:

Fleur de Sel Cake Chocolate cake, vanilla porter caramel sauce, chocolate frosting, fleur de sel….

Oatmeal Cookie Cupcakes – A cupcake that tastes like an oatmeal cookie and using Oatmeal Porter

Drunken Chocolate Cookies – The best chocolate cookies…with Bailey’s…because it’s Irish.

Guinness Cupcakes with Vanilla Buttercream – Simple Guinness cake with fluffy frosting

Guinness Truffles – Chocolate cake truffles with Guinness frosting

3 Bean Porter Cupcakes – Espresso, Porter, and Cakes: the trifecta of awesome.

 

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

