the foundation of a good marriage

text

Husband: I’m making myself a peppermint white mocha
(My all-time favorite drink)
Me: Well aren’t you nice to yourself
Husband: Yup. It’s going to extra delicious
Me: I suppose if you’re going to be nice to one person, it should be yourself.
Husband: I’m pretty sure that’s the foundation of a good marriage. I can feel the husband points rolling in.
Me: You’re so good to me.
Husband: For real though, I only want to make one so we’ll share. And by share, I mean I’ll drink most of it and give you the rest.
Me: You’re a gem. You truly are.

IMG_2904

IMG_2901

Thus is the love of the Hunters. It’s….unique. And wonderful. Kind of like this brownie. It’s a hybrid Black Forest/chocolate-covered cherry sundae/espresso brownie kind of a thing but it’s also unique and wonderful. And rather fitting for February, I think.

IMG_2906

black forest brownie

Start with one pan of your favorite brownies, baked, cooled, and cut into squares. I used a Ghirardelli box mix (because they’re amazing) and substituted the water with espresso. Soo yummy! And then you get to add the toppings….

chocolate sauce:
2 Tbsp heavy cream
2 tsp cherry syrup
1 tsp khalua
1 C dark chocolate chips

1. Place all ingredients in heat-proof bowl and microwave in 30-second intervals, stirring between each, until smooth.
2. Spread on top of cooled brownies and allow to cool while you make the cream.

khalua whipped cream:
1 1/2 C heavy cream
2 tsp sugar
2 1/2 tsp khalua
cherries for garnish – either fresh or canned

1. Pour ingredients into chilled bowl and beat on high speed until fluffy and stable – about 2 minutes.
2. Pipe on to brownies.
3. Garnish with a cherry. Bon appetit!
IMG_2903

IMG_2899

 

3 thoughts on “the foundation of a good marriage

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

