that little squish turned me into a puddle of mush

IMG_2823

I’m not usually the biggest fan of Valentine’s Day.  I find overpriced flowers and boxes of weird-filled chocolate and giant teddy bears and mushy love poems ridiculous.  I’d rather have a Hershey bar on a random Tuesday.  I think it means more.  All that to say, this year I’m oddly kind of into it.  Not necessarily the teddy bears and chocolate, but the cute hearts and treats and valentines.  I blame the Saurus, I think.  That little squish turned me into a big puddle of mush.  That, and Pinterest.  Pinterest is terrible.

IMG_2803

The ‘Saurus is sending out Valentines this year and I’ve been working recipes for some adorable treats (which I hopefully get the time to bake).  I also wanted to do something to let my boys know just how much they mean to me.  I made a calendar, of sorts, for each of them with reasons why I love them – one for each of the first 14 days of February.

IMG_2827

IMG_2804

I just cut out red strips of paper and wrote each reason on the back and placed them in little paper envelopes (like these) and clipped (with these) them to some baker’s twine (like this) that I pinned to our living room wall.  I didn’t have enough envelopes or clothespins (and didn’t feel like going to the store) so I just taped some of the notes directly to the twine instead.  Ça marche.

IMG_2820

So how do you tell your favorite people that you love them?

IMG_2826

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

