and i think to myself, “challenge accepted”

22

day twenty-two :: challenge accepted 

text

Vacation.  We’re on it but it took a while to get in the mood this year,  I’m afraid.  Firstly, I hate packing.  I’m terrible at it.  I have great intentions and set out suitcases and do laundry and make lists but it always comes down to me frantically throwing miscellaneous items in bags, yelling a lot, shoving everything willy-nilly in the car, and tearing out of the house like a bat out of hell.  Leaving the poor house looking like a teenage girl’s dorm room, which means that when we get home, I’ll be instantly overwhelmed by mess and will have no idea where to begin, but I’ll worry about that next week.

IMG_2342

Anyway, after the car was stuffed to the gills, we set out for LAX (long, complicated story about that) 2 hours behind schedule.  I managed to drive the speed limit (side note, I totally look at those ETAs on the GPS and think to myself, “challenge accepted”) and get us to LA at a decent hour, without commotion, only to arrive at the wrong hotel.  No worries, though, the correct hotel was only 1 mile away.  Piece of cake.  Wrong.  That was about the time the ‘Saurus decided to wake up and be a grumpy-pants and traffic decided to stop.  One hour later, we arrived at the “correct” address.  Only to find that it was a parking lot, not, in fact, a Marriott.  Across the street was another Marriott, however, (except the really nice kind – not the regular-people kind) and I frantically pulled in, just to try to calm down the baby (who inexplicably hadn’t worn himself out after an hour of constant screaming) and Husband (who was about to have an aneurism) and try to find out where in the world we were supposed to be.

IMG_2339

What actually happened was that the valet opened my door (to his credit, he didn’t run away from the horror show inside like any rational human would have done.  Those guys must have some kind of training in hostage rescue or bomb diffusing or something) and talked the ‘Saurus off of a ledge while we sorted out the particulars of just trying to find somewhere to sleep for 4 hours.  I suppose we must have looked horrific and the hotel just wanted us to move our travelling circus and sweatpants out of their front lobby because they transferred our reservation to that hotel and gave us a super-fancy room and carried our luggage in and parked our car and brought extra blankets for the ‘Saurus all in the blink of an eye.  And then helped us load our car seat, snowboard, and giant suitcases on the right bus to the terminal the next morning.  Marriott now has my business for life.

IMG_2338

Actually getting on the plane, then getting to the house, then getting settled in is a whole ‘nother saga.  Apparently, LAX overbooks gates – as in, four flights, at the same time, at one gate – and so we had to wait (and wait and wait) for a bus to drive us to our plane somewhere on the tarmac and they overbook buses, too – as in, four flights & 200 passengers, at the same time, going to four different planes, and only one bus.  We made it.  Our luggage made it.  And we are now all snuggly warm drinking coffee and letting the snow fall.  And there’s a deer who hangs out on the back porch who I’ve adopted and named Harriet. I’m hoping she’ll fit in my carry-on for the flight back.
20131221-230539.jpg
But I have learned that in no way, shape, or form, do I belong in a city (or one where people outnumber livestock) and I’m just going to start chartering flights everywhere I go.  Or buy a jetpack.  Or wish someone would hurry up and invent one of those “Beam me up, Scotty” things.

IMG_2340

Keeping it simple is now the theme of the week around here and these treats do just that.  I can’t believe I’m even writing a recipe about them because there is no recipe to write: you just dunk Oreos in chocolate.  But I love these and it would be a shame not to share them.  Enjoy!

IMG_2335

festive oreos

baker’s note: these are incredibly adaptable – just sub out the extract with anything or add a different topping. See – I told you this is the recipe that’s not a recipe…)
1 pkg Holiday Oreos
1 pkg Ghirardelli melting wafers (like these)
1 tsp peppermint extract
1/4 C crushed peppermint

1. In double boiler, melt chocolate until smooth. Add extract, lower heat, and keep stirring to keep it smooth.
2. Cover Oreo in chocolate mixture. I found that the easiest way to do this was to place the Oreo on a fork and then spoon chocolate over it.
3. Place Oreos on parchment paper. Sprinkle with peppermint chips and allow to dry.
4. Ta-da! Told you it was easy.

 

One thought on “and i think to myself, “challenge accepted”

  1. Pingback: merry christmas | chuck and welly

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

