because i’m crazy

9

day nine :: dark chocolate truffles

text

IMG_2201

Welp, I’m kinda giving myself a pat on the back for making it 9 whole days without missing a post.  Most of the credit goes to fabulous people who’ve helped me out with guest posts and to Husband who’s put up with madness.  Although, madness is kind of the norm around here so I guess he gets gold stars for just making it through each day.  Anyway, I had this (naturally) hair-brained idea to make Belgian Truffles for my coworkers.  At 11pm.  Because I’m crazy.  And I couldn’t just make one simple kind, no, I had to make 5.  Because I’m crazy.  And, apparently, I hate sleeping.

IMG_2192

IMG_2185

They were, however, a huge hit so I suppose it was worth it.  And actually, they were fairly simple.  So, if you’re going to make a treat for co-workers at 11pm, I recommend these.  They won’t make you go cross-eyed.  And they look fancy.  I’m a big fan of tricking people into thinking I’m awesome at chocolate.

IMG_2181

In order to make these as authentic as possible, I used a recipe that was in French.  (Have I mentioned I’m crazy?!)  Naturally, this meant I had no idea what any of it meant so I pretty much just made it up instead.  Because that’s pretty much the same thing, right?  I think right.  Also, these are the perfect take-to-a-holiday-party treat since they can be made wayyyy ahead of time (unless you’re like me and are blessed with the gift of uber-procrastination) and are gluten-free.  It’s pretty much fool-proof.

IMG_2188

IMG_2199

dark chocolate truffles

makes about 15 truffles
baker’s note: these are easy to make multiple batches all at one time, just heat a bunch of cream and then pour it into the bowls of flavor and chocolate. Make sense? Hopefully. Because I’m confused and I wrote that. Yikes.

1 C fine dark chocolate, chopped
1/4 C heavy cream
1 Tbsp flavoring, if desired. I used pomegranate liqueur, blackberry jam, and champagne in mine.

3/4 C fine dark chocolate, chopped
sprinkles/chopped nuts

1. Heat cream in small saucepan until just before boiling.
2. Place 1 C chocolate and flavor (if desired) in heatproof bowl. Set aside.
3. Pour hot cream over chocolate and whisk until chocolate is melted and mixture is smooth and creamy.
4. Refrigerate mixture for at least an hour (overnight is fine)
5. Scoop out hardened mixture with a melon-baller into small balls.
6. Melt 3/4 C chocolate in double boiler. Dip balls into melted chocolate and set aside to dry.
7. Sprinkle with decoration of choice or roll in chopped nuts (I used pistachios)
8. Voila! It’s 2am but your coworkers will love you.

IMG_2197

IMG_2182

One thought on “because i’m crazy

  1. Pingback: merry christmas | chuck and welly

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

