be still

{E2442830-687E-4346-93D8-417C1727A358}

day four: be still

I’m one of those people who are always 5 steps ahead. Not because I’m organized and have it all together. (Quite the opposite-I’m the princess-because my mother is most certainly the queen-of last-minute and over-commitment.) It’s because I’m a dreamer. I’m always thinking about the next thing, rather than enjoying the now. We’re moving (again) in the spring and I’m absentmindedly thinking about where we’re going to live and how we’re going to find a nanny rather than really focusing on what’s around me now. “When I open a bakery…” is a more common thought than “what’s for dinner”. When I’m a the grocery store, I’m writing the list for the next week in my head and end up getting home without half of this week’s items. This is not always bad, though. I enjoy being a dreamer. I love thinking and planning and imagining and sometimes it’s necessary – my family needs me to plan for a place to live and food to eat. But sometimes, it is important for me to be focused on the now. To take just one tiny step, one little minute, at a time. The Christmas season is a nice reminder of that to me because of it’s dually crazy and simple nature. Amid all of the hustle and bustle and cookies and presents and work and travel, there is peace.  There is quiet.  There is joy and an important little baby thousands of years ago and an important little baby in my house right now.  I often need to be reminded to be still. To be engaged. To be present. To reflect. To really listen to Husband’s stories. To not be answering emails while I’m feeding ‘Saurus. To spend a little extra time throwing the ball for the dogs.

To be still.

To be peaceful.

To be calm.

May you, too, find peace this season.

be still

Psalm 46:10 | 1 Kings 19:11-13 | Isaiah 9:6

5 thoughts on “be still

  1. I’m totally the same way– and I absolutely agree that we need to take time to slow down and enjoy today and now. Thanks for the beautiful post.

  2. Pingback: merry christmas | chuck and welly

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

