another birthday, another cupcake

text

nutella 043

The ‘Saurus is a babbler. He “talks” constantly to everything and everyone. Na, Ba, Da, La, Ya, EEEEK, and blowing raspberries are his current repertoire. There are more sound effects and than words; he’s all boy.  He also clicks his tongue and I’ve decided is trying to pick up Khoisan. In a concerning twist, however, he’s decided his most commonly used word is dada-dada. I’m determined to break him of that habit before he figures out what it means.

nutella 006

nutella 011

Me: Saurus, say Mama.
Saurus: Dada dada.
Me: Ma-ma
Saurus: Da-da
Me: No, MAMA!
Saurus: Dadadadadadada
Me: Say Dada
Saurus: pshpbshpshbpsh
Me: That’ll do.

nutella 009

Win.  Just kidding.  But not really – if his first word really is Dada, I’m going to cry.  Another day, another step back in the talking process.  Another birthday, another cupcake.

nutella 010

I love it when my coworkers request things – gives me a start for new recipe inspiration and this time was no exception.  Nutella!  This was my first time baking with Nutella and I can’t for the life of me figure out why I hadn’t done it sooner.  I love Nutella but you’d never be able to tell from my recipes.  For Nutella cupcakes, I knew I wanted to do something different and hit upon this recipe that seemed to be just the thing.  I changed up the frosting and made my own version of chocolate chip cupcakes (which were delicious in their own right), but the idea was still the same.  That lady knows what she’s doing.

nutella 014

nutella 016

I had to improvise with the frosting because I thought I had more Nutella than I actually did, but it worked out and I’m not sure I would change a thing, even though it’s a….unique recipe. Everyone said they looked professional and the birthday boy even made me take a picture standing next to them. I felt special. Kinda like it was my birthday. Which it might have been, actually. It’s sometime around now. I never can remember when that is. Sometime before Thanksgiving is all I’m sure about.

nutella 020

nutella 047

nutella chip cupcakes

adapted from: Inside BruCrew Life
chocolate chip cupcakes
3/4 C butter, room temperature
1 C pure cane white sugar
1/2 C pure cane light brown sugar
3 eggs, room temperature
2 tsp vanilla
3/4 C sour cream, room temperature
2 C flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 C milk, room temperature
1 C mini chocolate chips + 1 Tbsp flour

1. Preheat oven to 350.
2. Whip together butter and sugars. Add eggs, vanilla, and sour cream.
3. Sift in dry ingredients, alternating with the milk. Stir just until combined.
4. In a large ziploc bag, shake together chocolate chips and flour. This will keep them from all sinking to the bottom. Who knew?
5. Fold in the chocolate chips.
6. Spoon into cupcake tin and bake at 350 for 12-14 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
7. Place on wire rack to cool. Make cheesecake filling and frosting while you wait.
8. When cupcakes have cooled, scoop out the middle of the cupcake. I’m sure there are some fancy gadgets that do this for you, but I use an appetizer spoon.

nutella cheesecake filling
10 oz whipped cream cheese, room temperature
1 jar Nutella
8 Tbsp flour
2 tsp cocoa
pinch salt

1. Whip ingredients together until fluffy. Simple as that.
2. Reserve 1/2 C of mixture for frosting and use the rest to fill the cupcakes.

cocoa hazelnut frosting
1/2 C nutella cheesecake filling
2 Tbsp chopped hazelnuts
2 tsp cocoa
1/2 C butter, room temperature
1/2 C heavy cream, room temperature
2 1/2 C powdered sugar, sifted

1. In a food processor, blend cheesecake filling, hazelnuts, and cocoa until smooth.
2. In a stand mixer, whip together butter and the mixture from step one on medium-high speed until fluffy.
3. Increase mixer speed and slowly pour in cream and beat until stiff peaks form.
4. Sift in powdered sugar until desired consistency is reached.
5. Pipe onto cupcakes and top with chopped hazelnuts and mini chocolate chips.
6. Enjoy!

nutella 027

nutella 034

6 thoughts on “another birthday, another cupcake

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

