definitely better than couch skittles

text

while discussing my next baking challenge:

Me: So if I were to bake something, what should it be?
Husband: I dunno, blueberry muffins.
Me: I mean something new, something exciting and fantastic – like a fancy cake.
Husband: I don’t like cake.
Me: Not even a little?
Husband: Nope. I like cookies and cupcakes and pretty much anything on your blog that’s not a cake.
Me: You do know that cupcakes are just small cakes, right?
Husband: I recognize that the cakes you make are very, very good.  But cakes, in general, rate right below day-old banana bread in my book.
Me: So you’re saying that you’d rather eat skittles I found in the couch than cake.
Husband: Bingo.
Me: No cakes at all? What about Berry Cake?
Husband: BERRY CAKE!!!!!!!!!!!!! You got me. I dislike cakes – caveat: Berry Cake.
Me: So you just don’t like the rich, decadent, chocolatey, fancy creation I slaved over for 5 hours?
Husband: Nope. It’s just that I’m not some mellow, sexy kinda cake. I’m a fruitcake.
[beat of silence while we both let that sink in…]
Husband: This is who you married. Congratulations.

caramel apple cider cookies 023

I love that fruitcake.

caramel apple cider cookies 003

caramel apple cider cookies 028

caramel apple cider cookies 037

Anyway, I set about trying to find something different, fall-ish, and delicious.  One of my favorite things about fall are caramel apples and since cakes were out of the questions, I decided to try to put it in a cookie.  They were Husband approved.  So much so, in fact, that I’ve made them multiple times this week at his request and also made some to take to work.

caramel apple cider cookies 033

caramel apple cider cookies 007

my coworker gave a review that went something like this:
Looking at cookie: Oooo…these look interesting.
Bite One: Hmmmm…interesting.
Bite Two: Wow, they’re soft.
Bite Three: These are pretty good.
Bite Four: Whoa, these are REALLY good.
Cookie number four: These are perfect. Send my wife the recipe.
Cookie number five: *$#%!&*@!!! (roughly translated as “these are the best cookies ever”)

caramel apple cider cookies 018

I really try not to toot my own horn (which is why I write a whole blog about my cooking…), but I can say with certainty that these are yummy.  I even ate a whole pan a couple one.  They are definitely better than couch skittles and day-old banana bread.

caramel apple cider cookies 046

caramel apple cider cookies 056

caramel apple cookies

1 C apple cider (the real stuff that’s pretty much fresh apple juice and spices)
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp allspice
1/8 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp kosher salt
1/2 C caramel bits

1 C butter, room temperature
1 1/3 C sugar (I used raw, organic sugar instead of pure cane white stuff and I think it made a difference in these)
2 eggs, room temperature
3 C flour
1 tsp cream of tartar
1 tsp baking soda
1 large apple, peeled and finely chopped.

6 tsp cinnamon
6 Tbsp raw sugar

1. In small saucepan, boil cider, cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, and salt over med-high heat until slightly reduced (about 7-8 minutes)
2. Stir in caramel bits until smooth. Remove from heat.
3. Whip butter and sugar until fluffy.
4. Add eggs one at a time.
5. Reserve 1/3 C of caramel sauce (to use for topping) and stir the rest into the batter.
6. Sift in flour, cream of tartar, and baking soda just until well-combined.
7. Stir in apple pieces.
8. Scoop dough into balls, place on parchment-lined cookie sheet, and refrigerate for 10 minutes.
9. Preheat oven to 350
10. Combine cinnamon and raw sugar in bowl and roll each ball in the mixture until coated.
11. Return to cookie sheet and bake for approx 12 minutes or until golden.
12. Move to wire rack and drizzle with reserved caramel sauce.
13. Try to hold me back from eating them all.

caramel apple cider cookies 036

caramel apple cider cookies 041

and……

because I know y’all have all been waiting on pins and needles to see my adorable little guy dressed up like a giraffe, here you go:

He made it all of two blocks before he fell asleep.  This kid…

1385287_10101174355179693_1397584646_n

4 thoughts on “definitely better than couch skittles

  1. Pingback: don’t want to overdo it | chuck and welly

  2. This looks and sounds absolutely delicious! Going to these out with a friend of mine who is adept in baking (I can’t bake to save my life). Hoping it will make a fabulous debut for my cookie buffet at my wedding in October!! How many cookies does this batch make?

    • Thank you! I can’t wait for apple season so I can make them again. I think they’d be perfect for weddings-my sister in law had them at hers! 🙂 for her wedding, I made a double batch and that ended up being about 75 good-sized cookies. I’d say one batch should get you 30-40 depending on size. And congratulations!!!!!

  3. Pingback: Caramel Apple Cobbler Cake

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

