mimosas and bbq

IMG_2895

AK is getting married!!

bs1-2

bs9-2

This is exciting for multiple reasons: she’s fantastically happy, her fiance is great, and I love planning weddings (that aren’t my own, anyway).  It’s a win-win-win.  Before the very exciting wedding, we had a very exciting bridal shower last weekend which I had the pleasure of planning (with a lot of help and very gracious and understanding families!).

bs2-2

bs30-2 - Copy

My usual party-planning scenario involves brisket, beer, football, and an open invitation so this was something new for me and I really had a lot of fun with it.  I even managed to get out of yoga pants for about two hours and be a girl.  Also, I love mimosas and they let me have BBQ so it worked out.  I’m from Texas, it’s not a party unless there’s BBQ, no matter how fancy the occasion.

bs3-2

I monogrammed aprons for each of the girls which served as favors and place cards.  Each girl also brought a recipe for AK and signed a cutting board for her new kitchen.

bs37

bs4-2

bs8-2

I tried to find activities that weren’t too boring, embarrassing, or lame.  We settled on Wedding Vow Mad Libs (which I found hilarious) and Win-A-Date where AK had to answer questions about her fiance in order to earn money for their first date as a married couple.  She ended up with somewhere between sharing a Happy Meal and surf-and-turf.

The mimosa station was by far the most popular but the rest of the food wasn’t far behind.

bs11-2

bs12-2

Menu:

(most items should be linked to the recipe)
Cajun Pulled Pork Sandwiches
Quiche: (basic recipe below)
GF veggie and white cheddar
veggie, bacon, and swiss
bacon and gruyere
muffins (my recommendations are spiced pear and pumpkin)
baked french toast with pumpkin syrup
cranberry pistachio cookies
scones: lemon thyme, pumpkin, and apple oat which is from this mix and very delicious

cranberry bliss bars (recipe coming soon!)
and per AK’s request, strawberries & cream cupcakes

bs7-2

bs15-2

Here are some printable elements if you would like to host your own Champagne Brunch. Below are the invitations which are also available on my Etsy shop.

bs26

Congratulations, AK!  We all wish you a wonderful marriage filled with fun, joy, and love and rooted in Christ. 

bs29-2 - Copy

IMG_2887


IMG_2891

printables:

juice labels
recipe card
labels
mad libs answers
mad libs
mimosa bar

bs13-2

basic quiche

baker’s note: this recipe is the foundation for just about every kind of quiche (quiches? quichii?). Just throw in whatever veggie you like, switch up the meat or cheese, and viola! a whole new quiche is born.

9-inch pie crust, unbaked and placed in pie plate (I recommend this one for regular people, and Whole Foods has a delicious GF pre-made one)
6 eggs, beaten
1 1/2 C heavy cream
salt and pepper
1/2 pound bacon, cooked and chopped
vegetables as desired
cheese – I slice enough cheese to cover the quiche – Gruyere is my favorite

1. Preheat the oven to 375.
2. Layer veggies, meat, and cheese on top of crust.
3. Whisk together eggs, cream, salt and pepper and pour on top.
4. Bake at 375 for 35-45 minutes or until the quiche no longer wiggles in the middle. You might have to wrap the edges of your pie in foil so that the crust doesn’t get too done. (you’ll see that I did not do that…)
5. And my favorite part of this quiche is that it’s easily frozen! Just cover and freeze unbaked quiche and pop it in the oven when you have surprise company or don’t feel like making dinner.

2 thoughts on “mimosas and bbq

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

