can you even make that in a cupcake?

text

Cupcake número tres in the catch-up-on-recipes-while-I-move is German Dark Chocolate:

Coworker: my birthday is this week (hint, hint)
Me: Happy Birthday! Do you want cake?
Coworker: duh
Me: What’s your favorite?
Coworker: German chocolate
Me (outloud): Consider it done!
Me (in my head): Crap. I have no idea how to make German chocolate. What is a German chocolate cake? Can you even make that in a cupcake? Why couldn’t he have wanted chocolate chip cookies?!

cupcakes 001

cupcakes 010

I’ve never had a German chocolate cake, much less made one. To the Googler, I went. I found several fantastic-looking recipes and figured it was a start. In true adventurous fashion, I made a few tweaks because I can’t follow a recipe to save my life.

cupcakes 015

For the cake, I went with my favorite chocolate cake recipe of all time because I just can’t make a chocolate cake other than this one. I realize that German Chocolate probably isn’t supposed to involve dark chocolate and coffee, but I went with it and Coworker, who is a German Chocolate connoisseur, said that I hit it out of the park. Husband, who doesn’t like chocolate, said it was in his top 5 and AK, who doesn’t like coconut, proclaimed them delicious.

cupcakes 011

I love good reviews. And since I’ve stopped being a taste-tester (I’m fantastically critical and am usually not a fan of baked goods) and shunned everyone who doesn’t love my baking, I’m pretty much batting 1.000 for cupcakes. It’s awesome. Until I accidentally poison someone but that hasn’t happened yet so I try not to worry.

cupcakes 012

Also, this recipe led to the discovery of the best chocolate frosting Of. All. Time. It’s even better than the can, which is really hard to beat. I’m in love with this frosting and could pretty much eat it for breakfast. Every day. It’s scary good.

cupcakes 017

german dark chocolate cupcakes

cake:
3/4 C butter, room temperature
1/2 C pure cane white sugar
1/2 C pure cane brown sugar, tightly packed
2 eggs, room temperature
2 tsp vanilla
1 C buttermilk, room temperature
1/2 C sour cream
3 Tbsp strong brewed coffee, room temperature
2 C flour
3/4 C dutch-process cocoa
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
pinch salt

1. Preheat oven to 350
2. Whip butter until fluffy. Add sugars and continue to beat for about 2 minutes.
3. Add eggs one at a time and beat until well-combined.
4. Add in vanilla, buttermilk, sour cream, and espresso and stir slightly.
5. Sift in flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt a little at a time and stir just until combined. Don’t overmix.
6. Scoop batter into prepared cupcake tin
7. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. While these are baking, start on the coconut filling.

coconut filling:
from: Ashley Marie’s Kitchen
3/4 C butter
1 (12 oz) can evaporated milk
1 1/4 C pure cane brown sugar
4 egg yolks
2 tsp vanilla
2 C sweetened coconut flakes
1 C chopped pecans (I estimated this and probably ended up with more and 1 C)
1/4 teaspoon salt

1. In saucepan over medium heat, melt butter (but don’t allow it to brown)
2. When butter is melted, whisk in evaporated milk, brown sugar, and egg yolks. Raise heat to medium-high and stir until thoroughly combined and mixture begins to simmer. Allow to simmer, stirring occasionally, until mixture thickens slightly.
3. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla, coconut, pecans, and salt. Set aside.

the ultimate chocolate frosting:
from: Your Cup of Cake
4 oz cream cheese, room temperature
1/2 C butter, room temperature
2/3 C dark (dutch-process) cocoa
3 C powdered sugar, sifted
2 tsp vanilla
heavy cream, as needed for consistency

1. Whip together cream cheese and butter until light and fluffy (5-ish minutes)
2. Gradually stir in cocoa and powdered sugar. Add vanilla and beat until well-combined.
3. Add cream (or whole milk) as needed for consistency. I needed less than 1 Tbsp but I really like thick, heavy frosting.
4. Pipe frosting around the edge of cooled cupcakes and then top center of cupcake with a heaping spoonful of coconut filling.
5. Bring to work and let your co-workers boost your self-confidence

2 thoughts on “can you even make that in a cupcake?

  1. And since I’ve stopped being a taste-tester…and shunned everyone who doesn’t love my baking, I’m pretty much batting 1.000 for cupcakes.

    This made me laugh out loud. You are amazing! And some day when I get my life together (and get the willpower not to eat every batch) I will try these and many others on your blog. I love your wit and wisdom…thanks for sharing.

    Praying for you guys as you get settled in….we are going to need to plan a trip in the late fall/early winter to get together!

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

