darn. all out of cupcakes.

text

Happy Fall!

cupcakes 037

I have yet to make any fall-ish recipes this year but I have a notebook and brain full of fun planned out for as soon as I figure out my oven.  The first batch of test chocolate chip cookies was a horrific failure.  Better luck with the one in the oven now.  I hope.

cupcakes 018

cupcakes 042

Also, the cabinets in this new kitchen open backwards from my old one, which doesn’t seem like it’s a big deal, but it has lead to no end of frustration every single time I try to open a cabinet.  AND, my fridge is ridiculously tiny.  I didn’t even know they made them that small in regular houses.  It’s absurd.  I think I’m going to have to curb my wholesale shopping.  Bummer.

cupcakes 029

But the good news is that the lighting is better here and the stove is gas, which I much prefer.  So not a total loss.

cupcakes 046

These carrot cake cupcakes are not necessarily a new recipe, but the frosting is new and last time I wrote about them, I decorated them as bunny butts.  And this is the final batch of cupcakes in the Cupcakes-Across-America series.  Darn.  All out of cupcakes.  I’ll have to work on that.  I’ve been visiting a lot of cupcake shops on the trip and have tried about a dozen new flavors this week (all in the name of research, of course) and I’m hoping to whip some new stuff up soon.  This not baking thing is difficult for my mental state.  And Husband’s sweet tooth is acting up again…

cupcakes 040

Anyway, here is the “Carrot Cake of Legend” or “Carrot Crack Cake”, since Husband can’t decide what to call them…

cupcakes 044

carrot cake cupcakes

2 1/2 C flour
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
4 large eggs, beaten until frothy
1 C oil
1 C pure cane white sugar
1 C pure cane brown sugar
1/2 C buttermilk
8oz (one small can) crushed pineapple, drained
2 tsp vanilla
2 1/2 C shredded carrots
1 C chopped walnuts
1/3 C shredded coconut
zest of one orange

1. Preheat oven to 350
2. Beat the eggs until frothy. Add sugars, oil, buttermilk, vanilla, and pineapple. Stir until fully combined.
3. Gradually sift in dry ingredients: flour, baking powder, cinnamon, baking soda, salt, ginger, and nutmeg. Mix until completely incorporated.
4. Stir in carrots, walnuts, coconut, and orange zest.
5. Pour into prepared cake/muffin pan. I use 1/4 C of batter for each cupcake.
6. Bake at 350° for 25 minutes (for cupcakes) or until toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.
7. Allow to cool in the pan or a few minutes before transferring to a wire rack to finish cooling.

fluffy cream cheese frosting

12oz cream cheese, room temperature
2/3 C superfine sugar (regular white sugar works just fine – this is just better)
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp almond extract
1 3/4 C heavy cream

1. Whip cream cheese, sugar, vanilla, and almond extract on medium speeed until creamy.
2. Gradually pour in the cream and increase speed to high. Continue to whip until still peaks form. Pipe onto cooled cupcakes and garnish cupcakes as desired. I rolled them in coconut, but that’s only because my decorating skills are seriously lacking.

2 thoughts on “darn. all out of cupcakes.

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

