fruit i’ll actually eat

galette textI love berries. I find them gorgeous and summery and sunshine-y. But I don’t eat them. I don’t eat them because I don’t find them delicious. I’m always disappointed because they look so tasty but are really just full of gritty little seeds. Yuck. So, I’m usually content to just look at, admire, and bake with berries but never eat them.

galette 013

Until yesterday, when I discovered that you can mix them with pie crust, sugar, and alcohol. Now that is some fruit I’ll actually eat. Yummy. I had a bunch of extra strawberries in the fridge – they were too pretty to pass up at the grocery store, even though I knew I wouldn’t actually eat them.

house 045

galette 005

I was going to make strawberry shortcake until I realized that a galette would be so much more delicious. But not just any galette – this one took on an identity of its own. I was going to just do plain strawberries with fresh cream, but then I realized I wanted champagne cream. And since I was making that, I should probably just put some bubbly in the baked goodness, too.

house 046

house 048

Then I needed something to mix the champagne in, rather than just pouring alcohol on my strawberries (though, admittedly, not a bad idea) thus adding an extra layer of apricot champagne yumminess. Which resulted in something I will eat. And I will eat a lot of. Specifically, half of it. Oops. And the best part? Leftover champagne = mimosas for breakfast. There is no losing in this situation.

galette 004

strawberry champagne galette

crust:
3 1/3 C all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 C shortening
4 Tbsp ice water (fill a glass with ice and water and use that – you want the coldest water you can get)

1. Mix together flour and salt in medium bowl. Cut in shortening until crumbly.
2. Mix in water until well combined and dough comes together.
3. Form dough into ball, cover in plastic wrap, and refrigerate for about half an hour (while you prepare other ingredients)

apricot champagne filling:
10oz apricot jam
2 Tbsp pure cane white sugar
1 tsp lemon zest
1/4 C champagne

1. In small saucepan, stir jam and sugar together over medium-high heat and bring a boil.
2. Remove from heat and stir in lemon zest and champagne.
3. Strain out about 1/3 C of the mixture and set aside. (You can dump the goop you strained out back into the original mixture)

strawberry filling:
approx 2 lbs fresh strawberries
1/4 C pure cane white sugar

1. Thinly slice strawberries and toss in sugar until well-coated.

assembly:
1. Preheat oven to 375
2. Place dough between two pieces of waxed paper and roll out until about 28-30 inches in diameter. Place dough on cookie sheet.
3. Top with apricot filling (the goopy one, not the strained part), leaving about 3-4 inches around the edge.
4. Arrange strawberries on top of apricot filling and just keep adding until you run out of strawberries.
5. Fold up the unused edges of the crust and pinch together, sealing in the filling. Garnish edge of crust with sugar crystals, if desired.
6. Bake at 375 for 25-30 minutes or until crust is beginning to turn golden brown.
7. Remove from oven and allow to cool while you make cream (see recipe below)
8. Top with the strained apricot filling and cream.
9. Serve and enjoy. It’s especially delicious for breakfast. With mimosas.

house 026

house 030

house 037

house 054

champagne cream:
1 C heavy cream
3 Tbsp powdered sugar
1/4 C (or more, to taste) champagne

1. Beat cream on high and sift in powdered sugar. Beat until stiff peaks form.
2. Reduce speed and stir in champagne, then increase speed and return cream to heavy peaks.
3. Use and serve immediately. You’ll notice my cream melted as soon as I put it on the warm galette. It was still fantastic.

galette 001

galette 011

the aftermath of my breakfast….it was tasty…

One thought on “fruit i’ll actually eat

  1. Pingback: strawberry basil tiramisu | cooks in the kitchen challenge | chuck and welly

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

