my mom bakes too

IMG_0496-2 txt

IMG_0452-2

IMG_0488-2

I think the most surprising part of parenthood has been just how much time is devoted to caring for the littlest Hunter. I don’t think I fully grasped how something the size of a sack of potatoes could require 100% of the time of 2 adults.  Or how even squeezing in a shower would be a challenge.  Huh.  This realization has resulted in a lack of baking on my part, which is why I enlisted the help of my mother.

 IMG_0450-2

IMG_0484-2

Not only has she been a wonderful help with the tiny one, but she has also kept Husband well-stocked with treats.  The way to his heart is most definitely through his stomach and I think he might now be trying to figure out how to get my mom to move in so she can make him pie.  Which would be just fine with me.

IMG_0454-2

IMG_0459-2

IMG_0487-2

Speaking of pie, apparently this is an old family recipe (though not unique to my family – it’s all over the Googler) that my Noni used to make and Mom has been making for years.  Somehow, I missed it in my growing-up years and this is the first I’ve heard of it.  Weird.  But Husband loves it.  So much so, in fact, that he ate half the pie before I could take pictures.  So, just pretend that there isn’t half of the pie missing and that my pictures are actually something that would make you want to eat this.

IMG_0495-2

IMG_0489-2

Sweet Charity Pie

baker’s note: Cool Whip can be substituted for the heavy cream and sugar

crust:
1 C flour (Almond flour works pretty well for you GF types)
1 C pecans, chopped
1/4 C pure cane brown sugar
1/2 C butter, softened

1. Preheat oven to 375.
2. Mix all ingredients well in 9×13 glass dish amd spread evenly. Mixture will be crumbly.
3. Bake at 375 for 15-20 min, stirring once, until just beginning to turn golden.
4. Remove from oven and spread in pie plate, reserving 1/4 C of the crumbs. Refrigerate.

filling number one:
8 oz cream cheese, softened
1/2 tsp almond extract
1 C powdered sugar, sifted

1. Beat all ingredients together until creamy.
2. Spread over bottom of cooled crumb crust. Be advised that some of the crust may pull up. Just do your best.
3. Refrigerate.

filling number two:
1 can cherry pie filling
1 C heavy cream
2 Tbsp pure cane white sugar

1. Beat cream and sugar until peaks form.
2. Fold cherry pie filling into whipped cream. Spread evenly over cream cheese layer.
3. Top pie with remaining ½ C crumbs.
4. Keep refrigerated until serving. Or until Husband has eaten it.

IMG_0455-2

IMG_0458-2

IMG_0462-2

IMG_0463-2

In other news, thanks to Deidre Lewis at Pictures of Prose, our baby photos have been edited and I am so in love with them.  Every one is my new favorite.  She even managed to cover up that extra 60 lbs that I have yet to lose.  I blame the pie.

View More: http://picturesofprose.pass.us/hunternewbornphotos

View More: http://picturesofprose.pass.us/hunternewbornphotos

View More: http://picturesofprose.pass.us/hunternewbornphotos

2 thoughts on “my mom bakes too

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

