happy not-belated easter

cadbury cookiesMild success! I have actually made a seasonal baked good and shared the recipe before the actual holiday! So, I might be cutting it a little close but that’s irrelevant. And I wore real pants yesterday and got 5 consecutive hours of sleep so I’m feeling pretty much on top of the world. Or was. Until I was changing the tiny one’s diaper and noticed poop. On the wall. And the lamp. And the dresser. No idea how or when the incident had occurred but, it definitely brought me down a few pegs from my euphoric “I almost feel like a real person” state.

099

111

Talking about poop is probably not the best way to introduce cookies. I probably should have been giving cute anecdotes about bunnies and eggs while describing the way these melt in your mouth. But I have a three-week-old so instead I’m talking about poop. Aren’t you lucky? Don’t worry though, the poop and the tiny one came no where near these cookies – they didn’t even happen on the same day. The cookies happened in a clean kitchen with clean hands while he was napping and I should have been writing a paper. Please don’t call the health department.

100

117

Anyway….COOKIES! Easter is a spectacular time of year for many reasons, one of them being Cadbury Mini Eggs. I love those. I’m always tempted to buy a case of them so I can enjoy the delectable-ness (yes, I know that’s not a word but the thesaurus didn’t have any better options for me) all year long. They’re that good. Especially the dark chocolate ones. I discovered those this year and have thoroughly converted to the dark side. With no remorse. So, of course I had to put them in some cookies because that’s what I do with all of my favorite things. And they turned out pretty tasty. Husband recommended.

115

But if you’re in the mood for something a little different, Husband also recommends the bunny-butt carrot cupcakes from last year. I didn’t have enough time or energy for those this year due to the afore-mentioned three-week-old. (I did manage to make a batch of gluten-free tiramisu cupcakes for myself, though. Priorities!) But here’s a link in case you’re more ambitious:

20120407-203904.jpg

116

cadbury cookies

baker’s note: For the love of bunnies, refrigerate this dough before baking! Otherwise you’ll end up with sad, flat cookies like mine. I just didn’t have the time due to the afore-mentioned three-week-old (this is my new mantra. I’m getting tshirts made). Also, crunch up your Cadbury Eggs with a hammer or rolling pin. Not your food processor. You’ll only end up with mini egg powder, which is delicious, but not the goal. Also, it’s incredibly loud (like hearing-loss threshold) and you’ll wake up the neighbors. Your baby will sleep right through it, though. Learn from my mistakes.

1 C shortening + 3 tsp water
3 oz cream cheese, room temperature
1 C pure cane white sugar
1/2 C pure cane brown sugar
1 egg, room temperature
2 tsp vanilla
3 C flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 C Cadbury Mini Eggs, chopped
Cadbury Mini Eggs, whole, for topping

1. Cream together shortening, water, cream cheese, and sugars until fluffy. Add egg and vanilla.
2. Gradually stir in dry ingredients until well-combined.
3. Fold in chopped Cadbury Eggs.
4. Cover and chill dough for at least 30 minutes or until dough can be formed into balls.
5. Preheat oven to 350
6. Roll dough into ping-pong ball sized balls and place on cookie sheet
7. Bake at 350 for 10 minutes. Remove from oven and place whole Cadbury Eggs on top.
8. Bake for an additional 5 minutes. Allow to cool on pan for a couple of minutes and then move to wire rack to cool completely.
9. Happy Easter!

119

118

3 thoughts on “happy not-belated easter

  1. Pingback: Happy Cheesecake on the 5th Day | always an adventure

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

