with sprinkles, of course

guinness cupcakes

I was all excited because I made these cupcakes a full two weeks before St. Patrick’s Day, with the goal of sharing the recipe just in time for the festivities.  What actually happened was I had a baby.  I know, he’s finally here!  And can you believe that I’m actually writing about cupcakes rather than sharing pictures of the littlest Hunter?!  Truth be told, I’m dying to share his chubby cheeks with the worldy-widey-web but am waiting until I have just the perfect thing to say and just the perfect pictures.  Such a momentous occasion requires a lot of planning so that I can fool everyone into thinking I have this motherhood thing down when, in reality, I’m laying on the floor of the nursery, (have I mentioned the awesome rug?!) falling asleep over my textbooks while I wait for the next round of feeding and diaper-changing.  My shirt has drool on it and I can’t positively tell you whether its mine or the baby’s.  Ick.  No one wants to see that.  Everyone wants to see us when we’re all clean and shiny.  Those moments have definitely happened (we really do have the best baby on the planet) but the camera was absent during all of them.  The only times the camera is on is when I’m not wearing make-up and am trying to squeeze back into my pre-baby jeans.  Not pretty.  But since I have no self-control, here’s one little preview of the tiny dude:

188814_10151377474964833_1325785473_n


Copyright Deirdre Lewis, Pictures of Prose | Please to not crop or edit this image in any way shape or form. However, please feel free to tag or share!

That was a lot of words to say that obviously I missed my St. Patty’s Day deadline and can only hope that beer cupcakes will be popular all year long.  Husband was not a huge fan of these because he was expecting a rich, chocolate cupcake and these are not that.  They are, however, Guinness flavored.

IMG_0023

IMG_0007

After a taste comparison  between a cupcake and a Guinness (I know, cupcake guinea pig is a horrible task), Husband (and everyone else who helped sample) became a supporter. The icing was another grueling taste-testing process whereby I force-fed everyone 5 different types until we reached a consensus of simple vanilla buttercream. With sprinkles, of course.

IMG_0008

guinness cupcakes

adapted from my baking addiction
12 oz Guinness Stout, room temperature
1/2 C whole milk, room temperature
1/2 C oil
1 Tbsp vanilla
3 eggs, room temperature
3/4 C sour cream
3/4 C cocoa (I used Hershey’s Special Dark)
1 C pure cane white sugar
1 C pure cane brown sugar
2 1/4 C flour
2 Tbsp corn starch
pinch salt
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1/3 C semi-sweet chocolate chips, melted

1. Preheat oven to 350.
2. Combine Guinness, milk, oil, and vanilla. Beat in eggs one at a time and then add the sour cream.
3. Gradually sift in the dry ingredients: cocoa, sugars, flour, corn starch, salt, and baking soda. Mix until well-combined.
4. Stir in the melted chocolate just until incorporated.
5. Pour batter into muffin tin and bake for 20-30 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
6. Cool and frost with vanilla buttercream.

IMG_0021

vanilla buttercream

1 C butter, room temperature
4 C powdered sugar
4 Tbsp heavy cream
2 tsp vanilla

1. Beat butter until smooth. Slowly add powdered sugar (tip: if you just dump it in, it goes everywhere. Our kitchen still looks like we have a serious cocaine problem.)
2. Add cream and vanilla and beat until light and fluffy. Add more cream or powdered sugar to change consistency as desired.
3. Frost cupcakes!

IMG_0022

2 thoughts on “with sprinkles, of course

  1. Pingback: cake + beer = delicious | always an adventure

  2. Pingback: top o’ the mornin’ | chuck and welly

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

