if you build it, they will come

SpicedWe have tried every single method imaginable to help this baby out.  Nothing works.  He is stubborn and cozy and not excited about his birthday at all.  So I did the only other thing I could think of.  I made a cake with the hopes that maybe a little baked treat would motivate this stubborn child to have a birthday.

IMG_0025

IMG_0027

Kind of like an “if you build it, they will come” scenario, except with birthday cake.  If there’s a cake, we have to have a birthday.  No such luck on the birthday front, but there was incredible luck with the cake.  It’s one of my new favorites and that’s saying something because I dislike both cake and peaches.

IMG_0048

IMG_0049

spiced peach cake

baker’s note: Fresh peaches would be amazing, I’m sure, but the store didn’t have any of those so I went with canned. Turned out well since I was able to use the juice in the cake. I’ve also started setting out my eggs, butter, and milk first thing in the morning if I’m going to bake so that everything is room temperature. No idea why, but it seems to help everything be a little more tasty.

1 C (two sticks) butter, softened
2 C pure cane white sugar
4 eggs, room temperature
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 C whole milk, room temperature
1/3 C greek yogurt (or sour cream)
1/3 C peach juice
4 C all-purpose flour
6 Tbsp corn starch
2 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 rounded tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ginger
2 tsp orange zest

whipped vanilla mascarpone frosting

1 large can of peaches, drained (save 1/3 C of juice)

1. Preheat oven to 325 and grease and flour two 9-inch cake pans.
2. Beat butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add in eggs one at a time.
3. Stir in vanilla, milk, yogurt, and peach juice. Batter will be gross-looking.
4. Sift in dry ingredients: flour, corn starch, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and ginger. Mix until incorporated.
5. Stir in orange zest.
6. Pour batter into prepared pans, dividing evenly.
7. Bake at 325 for 35-40 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
8. Place on wire rack and allow to cool completely.
9. Frost the top of one layer and top with thinly sliced peaches. Add the second layer of cake, then frost, then more peaches. Simple!
10. Hopefully someone has a birthday for you to celebrate! Or just a Saturday. Those are important, too.

IMG_0033

IMG_0029

whipped vanilla mascarpone frosting

baker’s note: the timing on this frosting can be a bit tricky, so watch it carefully.

16 oz mascarpone
2 C heavy cream
1 C powdered sugar, sifted
1 Tbsp vanilla

1. In chilled bowl, whip mascarpone until creamy, about 1 minute
2. Add cream and vanilla and beat on medium low until incorporated, about 30 seconds
3. Slowly add powdered sugar and then beat on high until stiff peaks form, about 1 minute. DO NOT OVERBEAT or the cream will start to separate and you’ll have to start all over. Not that I would know from experience…
4. Use immediately.

IMG_0055

For years, my photo-taking skills have been limited to an iPhone but Husband just bought me a new camera.  Like, a real camera with lenses and things.  I absolutely love it and it does an excellent job of taking photos.  However, it also does an excellent job of highlighting my baking errors and insufficient skills in both the kitchen and photography.  I’m going to have to get better at baking pretty things and taking pictures ASAP.  The “well yes it’s ugly but that’s because I took it with an iPhone” excuse is no longer valid.  Now you know I actually bake ugly food.  Darn.  I’ll work on that if y’all promise not to judge the recipes by the photos.

 

4 thoughts on “if you build it, they will come

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

