the only three things i’ve accomplished today

20130216-142248.jpg

My to-do list for today is a mile long and involves things like laundry and homework. Baking and naps and movie-watching are not on it. So naturally, those are the only three things I’ve accomplished today.

20130216-142301.jpg
It’s beer-brewing day for Husband and I always try to have a little something sweet for he and his brew buddy to enjoy. Since I had already made berry cake this week, I wasn’t in the mood to get fancy but wanted to try something new. The boys’ favorite cookies are twix ones so I decided to take the same basic idea but with a twist.

20130216-142324.jpg

When Husband and Brew Buddy were left to their own devices last fall and wanted treats, I walked them through making chocolate shortbread via Skype but this way my first attempt at actually baking this recipe, not just directing through a computer screen. “Okay, more sugar.” “Less chocolate.” “That looks done, I think”

20130216-142305.jpg
I’ve started putting coarse salt on my chocolate chip cookies and Husband loves it so I figured I’d throw it in this time too. The men-folk gave these two thumbs up.

20130216-142255.jpg

salted caramel dark chocolate cookies

baker’s note: I’ve always been confused about cocoa. Dutch-Process? Unsweetened? Isn’t it just all chocolate? Apparently not. After a little research, I came across this simple explanation and when to use each kind. Just a little tidbit for you.
1 C butter, softened
1/2 C pure cane white sugar
1 tsp vanilla
pinch salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 2/3 C flour
1/3 C dark chocolate cocoa powder
Rolo candies, unwrapped
coarse salt (for sprinkling)

1. Preheat oven to 375
2. Cream butter, sugar, and vanilla together.
3. Gradually sift in salt, baking powder, flour, and cocoa and stir until dough forms. If you have the patience, now is an excellence time to refrigerate the dough. If you don’t, then carry on but know your cookies won’t hold their shape as well.  You can tell from the photos that I fall firmly in the latter category.
4. Take a little less than 1 Tbsp of dough and form it into a ball around a Rolo candy.
5. Place on cookie sheet and sprinkle sparingly with coarse salt.
6. Bake at 375 for 10 minutes or until cookies begin to look dry.
7. Allow to cool and serve to someone who loves chocolate.

20130216-142330.jpg

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

