all of the best ideas

20130214-192816.jpg

My mother-in-law has all of the best ideas. For starters, the epic berry cake was all her doing and now these scones.

20130214-192712.jpg
When she first said her new challenge for me was to make a lemon thyme scone, I was skeptical. Apparently, they’re quite a hit a Caribou Coffee but…Thyme? In a scone? With a sweet lemon glaze?

20130214-192717.jpg

I thought thyme was just something that you put on turkeys at Thanksgiving. Turns out I was wrong.

20130214-192721.jpg

She was right. They’re pretty darn good. Strange, but yummy.

20130214-192734.jpg

I ate one and wasn’t sure what I thought. So I ate another. I thought I liked it but wasn’t sure so I ate one more. Five scones later, I was hooked. Quite a phenomenon, this lemon-thyme blend. But I assure you, it totally works.

20130214-192739.jpg

20130214-192743.jpg

lemon thyme scones

baker’s note: You’ll notice this recipe involves no eggs. Why? Because I forgot. Just plain old forgot to add one. I was very concerned about how they would turn out but baked them anyway and honestly, I like them just fine egg-less. But if you want to change your consistency a little, go ahead and toss one in between steps 3 and 4. (See-I told you I’m the worst baker ever!) I also added the lemon zest to the sugar and let it sit for about an hour in order to bring out more lemon flavor but I’m not sure how necessary it was.

scones:
2/3 C pure cane white sugar
zest of two lemons
1 C plain greek yogurt (sour cream would be fine, I just had yogurt on hand)
3 C flour
4 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp thyme
1/2 C (1 stick) cold butter

glaze:
1 1/2 C powdered sugar
juice of two lemons
water, as needed

1. Preheat oven to 375
2. In small bowl, whip together sugar, lemon zest, and yogurt. Set aside.
3. In large bowl, stir together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and thyme. Using a pastry cutter or two knives, cut in butter until well-combined and dough is crumbly.
4. Gradually work in yogurt mixture until well incorporated and dough comes together.
5. Roll out dough until 3/4″ thick and slice into small triangles. Using a plastic knife is best because they don’t stick.
6. Place triangles on parchment-lined baking sheet and bake for 10 minutes or until beginning to turn golden.
7. Allow to cool while you prepare glaze: just stir together lemon juice and powdered sugar. Add water as needed until desired consistency.
8. Dip cooled scones in glaze and allow to dry. It will take a couple of hours for them to dry completely, but my patience didn’t last that long.
9. Eat 5 and then tell me what you think.

20130214-192754.jpg

20130214-192800.jpg

20130214-192812.jpg

2 thoughts on “all of the best ideas

  1. Pingback: always an adventure

  2. Pingback: mimosas and bbq | chuck and welly

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

