week thirty-seven…?

It’s no secret that I’m not a fan of my OB clinic and every appointment seems to get slightly more ridiculous. So much so that I leave every time wondering why I even bother. The good news is, the labor and delivery people at the hospital (and our doula) are awesome and I can’t wait to go into labor so they can take over. Anyway, here is this week’s gem:

Nurse: So you’re 36 weeks.
Me: 37 but I still feel like the date is wrong and I’m closer to 38.
Nurse: Since he still hasn’t dropped, you might even be more like 35.
Me: He dropped 2 weeks ago.
Nurse: Eh….let’s check….Holy cow, you’re right.
Me: I know.
Nurse: Wow, he is way down there.
Me: I know.
Nurse: It’s a good thing you haven’t had contractions.
Me: I have and am. I told the assistant that.
Nurse: Let’s measure. Well, he’s measuring 38 1/2 weeks.
Me: I know it’s not an exact science but he’s always measured closer to what I think my date is.
Nurse: Then where did this due date come from?
Me: No idea. They changed it somewhere in the middle for no reason I can think of.
Nurse: Me neither. I’m pretty sure you’re about to have a baby.
Me: I know.
Nurse: We base dates on the first ultrasound since that’s the most accurate.
Me: That due date was the 19th.
Nurse: Oh, I see that. I wonder why they changed it? Hmmmm….But we’ll keep your due date since it’s already in your file. So we’ll see you in 3 weeks. Tell the front desk I want to see you at 38 weeks.
Me: Which one? 3 weeks or at week 38?
Nurse: 38.

at the front desk:
Me: Hi. I need to schedule my 38 week appointment. So between the 11th and 18th.
Clerk: How about the 26th?
Me: I think the nurse wanted to see me during week 38.
Clerk: Oh, okay, so two weeks.
Me: Ummmm….I’m 37 now so it’d be more like 10 days.
Clerk: So the week of the 19th.
Me: That’s week 39. Is that okay?
Clerk: Oh ya. We just measure your blood pressure anyway. So the 26th?
Me: Do you have anything earlier?
Clerk: I guess the 20th.
Me: I’ll take it.

These people sure know their stuff. They’re all very nice and I’m sure just very busy, not actually unintelligent but I’m fairly sure that me and the Googler could provide better prenatal care. So pretty much I have no idea when we’re going to have a baby but I’m hoping it’s before the 20th. I don’t really feel like driving an hour to have my blood pressure checked. Babysaurus will get here when he wants to anyway. Which may be soon? Or a month from now. No idea.

week 37

week thirty-seven

We’ve made it to the end! Well, almost.  Feel free to come any day now, Babysaurus

highlight of the week: the nursery is done, the clothes are washed, the hospital snacks are packed! We’re ready to go!
things I miss the most about not being pregnant: shoes.  my pretty shoes that used to fit my feet.
things I love the most about being pregnant: i still love feeling him kick and move even at 3 o’clock in the morning.  I think I’m going to miss that.  But not enough to wish I were still preggo.  oh, and naps.  I love those.  Gets in the way of papers I’m supposed to be writing but it’s all good.
cravings: oreos and milkshakes.  but not oreo milkshakes.  I really don’t get it but it’s not helping my weight any.  I’m going to regret this when I’m trying to get back in shape.
things that make me sick: pretty much everything.  I did pregnancy backwards and now have nausea, heartburn, and the inability to keep all of my food in my stomach.
symptoms: all of them.  Biggest complaints are swelling, contractions, and reflux.
things I’m looking forward to: getting to dress the little dude up in all of his clothes.  I hope he doesn’t grow too fast so he has a chance to wear them all!

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

