the one who makes muffins

20121221-063021.jpg

Husband and I are on vacation.

Hallelujah.

20121221-063025.jpg

This year, our annual winter sojurn to Montana is not marred by studying or a long to-do list or any other such nonsense. We can really say we’re on vacation. Two days in and we’ve done pretty much nothing except eat. And it’s been amazing. As I sit here in front of the fire and sip my coffee as the sun comes up over the mountains, I’m convinced that I’m just going to stay on vacation forever. If you never hear from me again, you know what happened. I’ll leave you with some muffins, though, so you don’t forget about me entirely.

20121221-062955.jpg

I think that’s all I’m known for anyway.

As told to me by a coworker:
Coworker: Oh, you need to go talk to Cass Hunter about that.
New Girl: Who?
Coworker: Hunter. Tall, dark hair.
New Girl: ….
Coworker: You know, the pregnant smiley one who makes muffins.
New Girl: Oh ya! I love her!

20121221-063030.jpg

See? If I didn’t make muffins, I’d be completely forgotten. You can write that on my headstone: Here Lies The One Who Makes Muffins. Not a bad thing to be remembered for, if you ask me.

20121221-063051.jpg

Anyway, here are the muffins. I had some cranberries left over from Thanksgiving and decided to do a little experimenting. I also had some sugared pecans left and decided to throw those in. I think it sealed the deal on these being the best cranberry muffins ever. Regular pecans (or no nuts at all) would still be delicious, but you can never go wrong by adding more sugar. I’ve never baked with fresh cranberries before, only dried ones so I have no idea if I’ve done something wrong or not. No one was poisoned though and the office proclaimed them delicious.

20121221-063036.jpg

spiced cranberry muffins

1 C butter, softened
8 oz 1/3-fat cream cheese, softened
1 C pure cane white sugar
1/2 C pure cane brown sugar
4 eggs, beaten
2 tsp vanilla
2 1/2 C flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
pinch salt
3 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp ground cloves
2 C fresh cranberries (I chopped 1 C and left 1 C whole)
zest of 1/2 an orange
1/2 C sugared pecans, chopped

1. Preheat oven to 350
2. Cream the butter, cream cheese, and sugars until fluffy. Add in eggs and vanilla.
3. Stir in dry ingredients, mixing just until combined.
4. Fold in cranberries, orange zest, and pecans.
5. Pour into prepared muffin tin. I usually use about 1/4 C of batter per muffin. Sprinkle top with sparkling sugar.
6. Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
7. Move to wire rack to cool or just feed straight to Husband.
8. Now you, too, can be forever remembered as “the one who makes muffins”

20121221-062931.jpg

20121221-063040.jpg

 

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

