week thirty. and twenty-nine. and some pancakes.

week 30

week thirty

Well, I missed week 29 entirely and this one’s a wee bit late.  I blame that ridiculous paper I had to write and that place I have to go for 40+ hours a week in order to pay my electric bill.  And you’ll notice the lovely glare from the camera.  I don’t have the time, energy, willpower, nor computer/camera knowledge to fix that.  Eh.

Babysaurus is approximately 16-inches long and weighs around 3 lbs.  The internet says this is the size of a cucumber, but I’ve certainly never seen a cucumber that size.  Or one that’s shaped anything remotely like what I’m hoping my child will be.  I disapprove of this particular vegetable analogy.  This week, though, he now has the muscle strength to grasp things.

highlight of the week: VACATION!  The little dude celebrated by firmly lodging his feet in my rib cage for the entire 6 hours of flying.
things I miss the most about not being pregnant: bending over.  And wearing my cute snow clothes.  They don’t make snow pants for preggos.  I guess they figured we wouldn’t be tumbling down too many mountains.
things I love the most about being pregnant: cinnamon rolls with no judgement
cravings: chicken fried steak and eggs craving was satisfied this morning but I could always use more.
things that make me sick: being tired. and plane rides.
symptoms: all of them? The baby book has a “list of things you might be experiencing” I can check every box. woohoo.
things I’m looking forward to: 10 more weeks until I can lay on my back! Yes!

I didn’t get around to a chalkboard picture at week 29, but here’s one from our office Christmas party instead:

IMG_2321

and in even happier news: PANCAKES!

20121219-142339.jpg
Pancakes are one of my ultimate favorite foods and this recipe is a never-fail. We’ve tried improving upon this recipe to make it our own but it just can’t be done. These are the best. The secret is the sour milk. You’d think buttermilk pancakes are the best but no. Sour milk is where it’s at the winner. (Even I couldn’t let that grammar catastrophe go un-checked.)

20121219-142328.jpg

When I’m not in the mood to torture my poor digestive system, I use gluten-free cake flour and they turn out great, but not as fluffy as the regular kind. You win some, you lose more. ‘Tis the life of a gluten-free eater. Oh, and I’ve decided it’s impossible to get a good picture of pancakes at 6 o’clock on Sunday mornings. It just can’t be done. Also, I got hungry so my caring factor was pretty low.

20121219-142345.jpg

fluffy pancakes

from allrecipes.com
baker’s note: the original recipe says this makes 8 pancakes. The most we’ve ever been able to get is 6. Maybe it’s 8 elf-pancakes or something.
3/4 C milk
2 Tbsp white vinegar
1 C flour (if you use GF, make sure it contains xanthan gum, or add some yourself)
1 Tbsp white sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 egg
2 Tbsp butter, melted

1. Heat griddle to 375. I have this awesome stove that has a built-in griddle-pancake-cooker-thingy. I have no idea how to use anything else. You’re on your own.
2. In medium bowl, whisk together milk and vinegar. Allow to stand for at least 5 minutes or until it no longer looks like milk you’d feel safe drinking.
3. Whisk in butter and egg.
4. Gradually add in dry ingredients and whisk just until all of the big lumps are done.
5. Pour batter onto heated skillet. Flip when you see bubbles on top.
6. Flip again when the underside is golden brown or you get impatient. Both ways work.
7. Serve with butter and warm syrup.

I think you can tell a lot about a person by the way they eat their pancakes.  Husband has a very precise and methodical application to ensure the perfect syrup-pancake ratio and drizzles syrup on his perfectly stacked pancakes like he’s auditioning for an IHOP commercial and then carefully cuts each bite.  I prefer the destroy-and-devour method whereby I annihilate cut up my pancakes and then proceed to drown them in a lake of extra butter and syrup carefully and sparingly apply butter and syrup.  This says a lot about our approaches to life in general.

20121219-142408.jpg

Husband’s perfect pancakes

20121219-142412.jpg

and mine

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

