bliss tastes an awful lot like peppermint

UPDATE 3dec13: These cookies were next on the list for picture re-do.  However, Husband liked the first ones better.  The ones I took in poor lighting at midnight with my iPhone.  Go figure.  So, we compromised and included both.  Don’t mind us.  The cookies are still yummy, I promise 🙂


20121214-122126.jpg

christmas cookies 022

Husband was telling me a hilarious story at lunch the other day. You probably had to be there, but the ending went something like this:

Me: I’m dying. I can’t believe this. I need to tell everyone this immediately because it’s hilarious.
Husband: No you don’t. I can live without the embarrassment.
Me: No, the world needs to know that people like you actually exist. It will make their day so much better. I’m putting it on the blog.
Husband: You’re making me contemplate violence toward a pregnant woman.
Me: You don’t know the difference between nail clippers and tweezers. That’s hilarious. Nail clippers are not an eyebrow shaping tool.
Husband: They can be. Very effective.
Me: You’re absurd. One of them has nail in the title, meaning it’s probably used for nails.
Husband: You can believe what you want to believe.

christmas cookies 016

So, Husband remains ignorant about the difference between nail clippers and tweezers. It doesn’t seem to phase him though.

christmas cookies 002

I’m pretty ignorant about several things too. Namely, baking.

christmas cookies 007

christmas cookies 015

I am not a baker. I am not a chef. I know nothing about cooking. I just keep adding more sugar and hoping it turns out edible. This was further reinforced to me today when I decided to make peppermint cookies. Are you allowed to use powdered sugar and regular sugar in the same cookie? Or have I somehow committed a cardinal sin of baking? No idea.

20121214-122107.jpg

Are there even cardinal sins of baking? I feel like that should be a chapter in Julia Child’s book. Maybe I would know if I’d ever read a cookbook. But I haven’t and probably never will. The first rule is probably that you’re supposed to measure things and not just start pouring sugar in the Kitchen Aid. Not sure I could ever comply with that one. And I have a great fear of judgement from the cookbook people. Therefore, I’m doomed to remain ignorant. And blissful.

christmas cookies 015

Bliss tastes an awful lot like peppermint. And I consider that a success.

20121214-122117.jpg

peppermint white chocolate cookies

baker’s note: the ganache stays slightly creamy-which pairs perfectly with the slightly crunchy cookie but I feel as if you should be warned in case you try to stack them and they end up sticking. Just a friendly public-service announcement.

Also, I get about 30 good-sized cookies from one batch. Figured you’d want to know that, too

1 C shortening
2 Tbsp milk
1/2 C powdered sugar
1/2 C pure cane white sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
2 3/4 C flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 pkg peppermint baking chips (I use a whole bag of Andes peppermint baking chips because I like these very peppermint-y.  I’d go with about 1C if you want a more moderate peppermint flavor.)

3/4 C heavy cream
10 oz white chocolate, chopped.

1. Preheat oven to 350.
2. Cream shortening, milk, and sugars together. Add egg and vanilla.
3. Gradually add dry ingredients and mix until dough is no longer crumbly.
4. Stir in peppermint baking chips.
5. Roll dough into 1-inch balls and place on cookie sheet.
6. Bake at 350 for 10 minutes.
7. Remove from oven and make a dent in the top of each cookie with a spoon. You’ll burn your fingers if you try to use them. Not that I would know from experience…
8. Move to wire rack to allow cookies to cool.
9. Make white chocolate ganache:
a. Place white chocolate in medium-sized bowl and fill a large bowl with ice.
b. Heat cream in small saucepan until just before boiling.
c. Pour cream over chocolate and whisk until chocolate is melted.
d. Place medium bowl into ice bowl and continue to whisk until desired consistency is reached. You want something that is still enough to stay where you want, but soft enough to be piped onto cookies.
10. Fill piping bag with ganache and pipe into the center of each cooled cookie. (If you’re cookies aren’t completely cool, they will re-melt the ganache and just make a puddle.  Not that I’d know from experience…)
11. May your day be filled with peppermint-flavored bliss.

20121214-122121.jpg

as featured on:

101 Christmas Cookie Recipes

30+ Favorite Christmas Cookies

20 C00l Peppermint Holiday Cookies | The Jenny Evolution

28 Easy Christmas Desserts | Sweet Pennies from Heaven


christmas cookies 013
Looking for more peppermint + white chocolate?  Try these:

peppermint white chocolate popcorn

peppermint white chocolate cupcakes

christmas cookies 023

12 thoughts on “bliss tastes an awful lot like peppermint

  1. Pingback: 101 Christmas Cookie Recipes Cupcakepedia

  2. Pingback: 20+ Christmas Cookies with Winter Cool Peppermint: Ultimate Holiday Cookie Round-Up | The Jenny Evolution

  3. I don’t know what it is about Christmas, peppermint and white chocolate, but you had me at the title! One question: what is the red in the cookie? Is that the mint chips? Are they like little bits of peppermint candycanes? Oh please let them be! I might have to try both…

    • Oh thanks! The red is just from the peppermint chips-I used Andes peppermint baking chips. They are so good!! A little crunchy, a little creamy, and a lot pepperminty! I love peppermint so I put the whole bag in but they would still be delicious toned-down. I think crushed candy canes would do perfectly, too, though-great idea!

    • I use a large cookie scoop for mine (about 1 1/2″ in diameter) and it makes 30 cookies. Doubling the recipe would easily get you 4 dozen and probably closer to 5 dozen. If you make small cookies (equally delicious!) then you might be able to do it in a batch and a half.

      Let me know how it goes! Happy baking!

    • Thank you! And thanks for posting them!! I am such a sucker for peppermint + white chocolate! I made some pwc cupcakes yesterday that I’ll try to get written up this weekend. And don’t get me started on pwc mochas! Haha. Thanks again!

    • Probably nothing 🙂 sometimes it’s just a little tricky. Try adding more chocolate or less cream and popping it in the fridge to harden. It will also melt and get runny if it gets hot (as in put on before the cookies were cool-I’ve lost patience and done that just about every time). But it’s fixable! If you’ve already finished your cookies, try refrigerating them and it should harden. If you’re still at the ganache stage, then stir in melted chocolate and just refrigerate that until it’s almost hard. Good luck!!! Sorry it didn’t work out the first time around! I should start a blog about how many batches of cookies have been complete failures 🙂

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

