just when you think you know a person

20121209-081814.jpg

In my happy attempts to bring festivity to muggy, backwoods Florida (it’s 83° and 100% humidity today), I searched the grocery store aisles for inspiration. And came up with this:

20121209-083735.jpg

Husband has been begging for cookies and cream cookies for quite a while. Actually, I think it’s just that he never stops asking. Same story with s’more cookies.  Whatever.  I thought I’d kill two birds with one stone and make a holiday mint version.

20121209-081757.jpg

No ground-breaking changes were made to the recipe, I just swapped the Oreos and chocolate chips out for their mint counterparts. I did have to use a few of my Robin Hood skills to redistribute the wealth of Oreo cream (creme?) but everyone ended up happy.

20121209-081810.jpg

I fully expected Husband to give these an “eh” rating considering how much he loves the regular ones and how I didn’t think he liked mint. Turns out he loves mint and says he loves both versions equally and that these taste like mint chocolate chip ice cream, which is one of his favorites (I had no idea). Just when you think you know a person, it turns out they actually like mint. That’s one of my favorite parts about marriage. Not the mint-liking part (although that totally worked out in my favor), but the always-learning-something-new-part.

20121209-081806.jpg

oreo mint chip cookies

baker’s note: I tried to make these at 11pm and without my glasses so I added 3/4 C of white sugar and 3/4 C of brown sugar. Thankfully, I realized my mistake before it was too late and plucked out 1/2 C of the brown (the white was a lost cause), resulting in the opposite of my usual sugar ratio and leading to the conclusion that it totally doesn’t even matter.
1 C shortening
6 tsp water
3/4 C packed brown sugar
1/4 C pure cane white sugar
1 (4.2 oz) pkg Oreo instant pudding
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2 1/4 C all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
pinch salt
1 pkg Nestle Winter morsels (dark chocolate and mint mix)
1 pkg mint Oreos, halved

1. Preheat oven to 350°
2. In mixing bowl, blend shortening, water, and sugars until creamy.
3. Add pudding and mix well. Beat in eggs and vanilla.
4. Slowly add flour, baking soda, and salt. Combine well.
5. Gently stir in chips.
6. Separate Oreos and place each half on a parchment-lined baking sheet. Roll dough into golf-ball sized balls and place on each Oreo half. Flatten slightly with fingers.
7. Bake at 350° for 10-15 minutes. Cookies will still look gooey, but let them rest on the pan for a few minutes, then move to wire rack and you’re good to go.

20121209-081821.jpg

20121209-083744.jpg

Ranger and Tonto always have a hard time waiting for cookies to finish baking.

Side story: you’ll notice Ranger’s beloved pig has now been replaced by a plastic pumpkin.  Mr. Pigglesworth met an untimely end when we accidentally trusted Ranger and he took him outside and ate him.  I’m fairly certain Ranger hasn’t even noticed the switcheroo.  (As long as he has something to hold in his mouth, he’s happy.  That dog is weird.) Except that we conveniently dismantled the pumpkin squeaker (he loves squeakers) so he can’t be as annoying maddening cute when he squeaks the thing all. day. long.

Tonto got a pumpkin too (because they were $.75 at Petsmart).  She’s only interested in it when you trip over it and kick it across the room.  Therefore, her pumpkin squeaker stayed intact.  Ranger often tries to fake us out and switch pumpkins to the annoying maddening cute squeaky one, but we’re smarter than him.  By a lot.  He’s horrible at being sneaky.

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

