next year i’m starting in july

happy december!

20121202-113633.jpg

I had this brilliant idea to have 25 Days of Christmas
(side story: I’m drinking coffee while writing this and then suddenly coffee started coming out of the back of the (brand-new) computer…I guess I spilled some? No idea. Hopefully computers like coffee. Otherwise it’ll be back to the stone age for me. Oops. This is why we don’t have nice things. That, and nice things are expensive.)

20121202-113638.jpg
Anyway, I had this brilliant idea to have 25 Days of Christmas on the blog where I’d do a festive recipe a day starting December 1st – like an advent calendar of cookies. How cute, right!? Apparently I developed a severe case of “I-forget-how-busy-my-life-is-itis” at the same time because it’s obviously December 2nd and this is my first post. Also, there’s no way I could make something everyday. I’m pretty sure diabetes is not all Husband wants for Christmas. And I just don’t have the time to clean my kitchen bake something daily. So instead, consider your December sprinkled (probably sparingly) with holiday festivity. Maybe next year I’ll start baking in July and then just put them up here in December. I’m pretty sure I could fool everyone that way and the internet would think I’m a fantastic housewife.

20121202-113656.jpg

So you might not get a recipe-a-day, but here’s one that always signals the start of the holidays around the Hunter House: sugared pecans. I’m not sure why these are festive, but I only make them around Christmas and they never last long.

20121202-113652.jpg

In fact, I left these on the counter and went to bed while Husband finished doing whatever he does on the computer. (He says it’s homework but I think there is probably a lot of zombie gunship happening.) When I got up the next morning, there were suspiciously fewer than the night before.

20121202-113647.jpg

Husband looked guilty. So did Ranger but he always looks guilty about something. He probably dug a new hole while Tonto loosened the fence boards in order to prepare their escape to the neighbor’s yard (again). I’d better go check.

20121202-113627.jpg

sugared pecans

2 egg whites
3 Tbsp water
2 Tbsp vanilla
1 C pure cane white sugar
1 C pure cane brown sugar
2 Tbsp cinnamon
pinch salt
2 lbs pecan halves

1. Preheat oven to 250
2. In large bowl, whisk egg whites until frothy. Add water and vanilla.
3. Whisk in sugars, cinnamon, and salt and mix until thoroughly combined.
4. Stir in pecans and keep stirring until completely coated.
5. Dump pecans (and goo) onto parchment-lined cookie sheet. The parchment-lined part is very important. If you forget that step, your pans will never be the same. Speaking from experience.
6. Bake at 250 for 1 hour, stirring pecans every 15 minutes.
7. Allow to cool and then eat. Yum!

20121202-113642.jpg

3 thoughts on “next year i’m starting in july

  1. Pingback: the one who makes muffins | always an adventure

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

