the (almost) best day ever

Last week I had a rough, tear-filled day because I thought everyone had forgotten my birthday. (True story) I try not to make a big deal out of birthdays to avoid the inevitable disappointment when I’ve accidentally discovered the not-so-cleverly hidden gifts (Husband can vouch for me: I don’t snoop at all, everyone else is just terrible at being sneaky) and I somehow end up with a to-do list a mile long that day but the pregnancy hormones got the best of me. In more ways than one because it turns out my birthday was actually today, not last week, and I was the only one who forgot my birthday. Huh. Super exciting! So it turned into the most awesome day ever. Except at the end but I’ll get to that.

20121120-234814.jpg
Husband woke me up with breakfast in bed, thereby assuring himself a firm leading spot in the race for husband of the year. It was delicious and he even did the dishes. Double-win. And then the neighbors brought Husband and I a Panera picnic lunch at work. Triple-win! And I had a beautiful flower delivery from my in-laws and lots of happy phone calls! Quadruple-win!
And to top it off, I saw something awesome today. Mind you, we live in a very unique part of America but it’s still fairly civilized. Or so I thought until I encountered this on my way to Starbucks (which is in the middle of town on a busy, perfectly regular street.)

20121120-234854.jpg
I had a rather pleasant afternoon not working and admiring my new sewing machine (thanks, Husband!), hanging Babysaurus’ clothes in his closet, and putting his books on the shelves. (There is nothing cuter than a baby sweater-vest. I can already tell I’m going to do everything I can to keep him from growing!) This took all afternoon because I kept getting distracted by Curious George. Sneaky little monkey.
Anyway, while Husband made me a delicious steak dinner, I made my very most favorite dessert: apple pie cheesecake. A tradition in my house growing up was to always make your own birthday cake. As a child I thought it was awesome because I could have box-mix chocolate cake with chocolate icing and get to display my Lego creations on top! How cool and delicious all at the same time! As an adult, I realize that this is much cheaper and used up hours of energy and concentration (which meant I wasn’t getting into trouble elsewhere) and if it wasn’t exactly what I wanted, it was my own fault for being bad at decorating. My mother is a sneaky genius. Regardless, the tradition stuck and I still love making my own cake (or cheesecake, post-Celiac). It never fails to disappoint.

20121120-234945.jpg
After dinner, the fun had to be over as I sat down to put the finishing touches on a couple of papers. I pushed the “on” button on the computer and several unusual things happened on the screen resulting in Husband proclaiming it broken but fixable. Three hours later, it was proclaimed gone for good with all of my papers and pictures and sanity. I then had a complete mental breakdown, effectively ruining my otherwise perfect day. But by then the cheesecake was ready and 3 pieces later, I felt better.

All in all, a completely typical day around here-totally fun and terrific and involving some kind of seemingly cataclysmic tragedy in which I must be talked off a ledge. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. But I would like those papers back and would like to not buy a new computer. Also, this means I have seriously diminished blogging capabilities, which is obviously what I’m most concerned about. Degrees aren’t really that important. Looks like I know what I’ll be getting for Christmas!

2 thoughts on “the (almost) best day ever

  1. Pingback: and then there were three (part two) | always an adventure

  2. Pingback: and then there were three (part two) | always an adventure

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

