if you give a husband a muffin

UPDATE: After making these three times this week (Husband and the office loved them that much!), I’ve made a few minor tweaks to the recipe. Not life-changing but little subtleties that Husband says make them better. The adjusted recipe is below but I’ve annotated alternate options where applicable. Feel free to add your own flair – that’s what baking is all about!

20121002-215224.jpg

Fall is my very favorite season. Not to be confused with Christmas which is my very favorite holiday. I usually just lump them both together in one three-month period of magic and happiness. Which makes January a huge let-down.

20121002-215217.jpg
I love the smells of cinnamon and apples and the crisp air and the chance to wear boots and scarves and bake delicious things involving pumpkin. But now that I think about it, I burn cinnamon candles year-round so there’s no change there; Florida doesn’t have crisp air, just slightly less hell-like temperatures; it’s still 80 degrees so boots and scares would be ridiculous; and I don’t really like the taste of pumpkin.

20121002-215144.jpg

But I love pumpkin patches and the smell of pumpkin baked goods, so that’s pretty much the same thing. And back to my original point, I love fall.

20121002-215117.jpg

So in honor of my favorite season and Husband’s promise to clean the kitchen if I bake him some muffins, I am happy to share a new Husband favorite recipe: Pumpkin Spice Muffins with Vanilla Cream Cheese Glaze.

20121002-215120.jpg

He says they’re the best pumpkin muffins he’s ever had but he’s also critiquing a hormonal pregnant woman who cries when the dryer doesn’t dry her sheets all of the way, so he might be exaggerating. However, based on smell alone, they seem pretty amazing. I kind of want to make them every day so the house smells more like awesome and less like Ranger and Tonto.

20121002-215124.jpg

Enjoy!

20121002-215112.jpg

pumpkin muffins
baker’s note: the cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and ginger can be substituted with 5 tsp pumpkin pie spice
2 1/2 C all-purpose flour
1 C pure cane white sugar
1 C pure cane brown sugar
1/2 C oats
3 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground nutmeg
1 scant tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp ground cloves
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 can (15 oz) pumpkin purée
3 eggs
2/3 C butter, melted. Can substitute with oil or applesauce but Husband says butter is better. Well, duh.
1/4 C milk (more if batter is too thick)
2 tsp vanilla

3 Tbsp cold butter
1/4 C flour
2 Tbsp pure cane brown sugar
1 Tbsp cinnamon

vanilla cream cheese glaze
3 oz cream cheese, softened
1/2 C powdered sugar
1 Tbsp corn starch
2 tsp vanilla
Milk to consistency

1. Preheat oven to 350°
2. Blend dry ingredients together: flour, sugars, oats, spices, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.
3. Stir in pumpkin. Dough will be dry and crumbly.
4. Add in eggs one at a time, followed by oil, milk, and vanilla. Mix until fully incorporated.
5. Pour into prepared muffin tin. Mine took about 1/4 C of batter and I ended up with 21 muffins. At least I think so. I thought I put 21 in the oven but there were only 18 on the counter cooling. Husband smelled suspiciously of pumpkin.
6. Mix 2 Tbsp of flour and brown sugar and 1Tbsp cinnamon together. Cut in cold butter and sprinkle mixture on top of muffins. Lay it on thick, trust me. It seems weird, but it works.
7. Bake at 350° for 30 mins or until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. My oven bakes pretty quickly so yours might take longer.
8. Remove from tin and prepare glaze while they cool a bit.
9. Whisk together ingredients for glaze. Add milk 1 Tbsp at a time until you get the desired consistency. I used about 4 Tbsp. You want something that will drizzle but not go everywhere.
10. Drizzle glaze over muffins and try to keep Husband from eating all of them at once. He’s like that If You Give A Moose A Muffin book: he wants a muffin, then some milk, then a hug, then another muffin and the cycle never ends…..not that I’d complain, though.

20121002-215204.jpg

I’m not lying about putting a ton of the crumb topping on – the more the merrier!

20121002-215129.jpg

4 thoughts on “if you give a husband a muffin

  1. Pingback: i just didn’t mess it up « always an adventure

  2. Pingback: and it wasn’t scary at all « always an adventure

  3. Pingback: mimosas and bbq | chuck and welly

  4. Pingback: pumpkin day | chuck and welly

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

