well that explains it.

I figured it was time for an update so that the internet doesn’t think I ran away to Morocco and cancel my account and report me as a missing person. I suppose I owe an explanation (besides the small human situation which I am currently navigating with varying degrees of success) for the lack of recipes. I have several lame excuses which I’m hoping will result in your forgiveness. I’ve been on a business trip for the last month and have two weeks to go. When I was younger, the world was a fantastic place to navigate and I could think of nothing more exciting and wonderful than traveling alone and staying in hotels and living out of a suitcase. I now think there is nothing more wonderful than sitting at home in my sweatpants with my husband, and find it plenty exciting. My 21-year-old self is ashamed that I’ve become so old. But I’ve also become happy so I think old me wins. Back to the point, which was I now live out of a hotel (for only two more weeks!) and don’t have a kitchen. Thus, no cooking. Also, food sounds less than delicious so I’m not really sure cooking would be on the agenda anyway.

But I have found things to occupy my time. My dearest friend lives in the area and I have gotten to have all kinds of girl-catch-up time which has been fantastic. She has even bought our very first baby gift (Thanks!) which I ADORE and Husband will grow to love. There’s a story there but I think it’s one of those “you had to be there things.”

20120911-211241.jpg

I visited DC and walked about 30 miles. After which I collapsed from carrying around 20 extra pounds, which was conveniently timed to be in front of a fantastic French restaurant. So fantastic, in fact, that I accidentally collapsed the following day in the same spot. How weird was that?!

20120911-211306.jpg

I went to Philly and ate a cheese steak.

20120911-211357.jpg

I went to New York and found the place where dreams are made. And then I realized that my travels tend to revolve around food which is fitting since my entire life revolves around food. And also explains those 20 extra pounds. Well-earned, those pounds.

20120911-211338.jpg

While I was eating, there was a hurricane back home. Not to worry, Husband had a good plan and managed to hold down the fort and no one blew away.

20120911-211415.jpg

I was hoping the imminent danger would be enough to motivate Chuck and Welly to learn to fly so they could find safety, but I’m afraid it was just the opposite. They had such a fantastic time swimming in the pond that used to be the backyard that I think they’re marking their countdown calendars for the next one. They also enjoyed becoming poultry tumbleweeds as they opened their wings and let the wind blow them across the yard. In case you didn’t know – ducks are weird.

It’s fall which means football season and the good-smelling candles at Bath and Body Works and is one step closer to Christmas which makes me feel like this:

20120911-211427.jpg

And I learned how to take care of a baby:

20120911-211636.jpg

So that’s my life in a nutshell.  Disjointed, crazy, and food-centric but that sounds about right.  Pretty good, considering the baby stole all my brain cells and I can’t even remember my address most of the time. Now back to my hiatus for the next couple of weeks.

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

