but i took a nap instead

The plan was to make these for the 4th of July. But I took a nap instead. Oh well. Friday, July 6th can be a holiday too, right? And it just so happens that Friday is one of my favorite holidays. And it happens every week. How cool is that?!

20120706-113649.jpg

In order to celebrate the holiday of Friday, July 6th, I made these M&M blondies which I found on Pinterest the website-that-must-not-be-named. They’re pretty stellar: the consistency of brownies but taste like an M&M cookie (which are my all-time fave!)

20120706-113635.jpg

In other news, Husband’s birthday was last weekend and we did it right: beer tasting! Complete with piñata, homemade pretzels, and Husband’s favorite cake. At last count, approximately 400 beers were consumed. With shockingly sober results. I was impressed. The party was supposed to be a surprise but I’m horrible at those. Whatever. It was still awesome. As soon as I wrangle all of the pictures, I’ll be sure and show y’all.

20120706-113644.jpg

Speaking of pictures, Husband and I have a photo shoot this evening with the fabulous Deirdre Lewis at Pictures of Prose. I’m pretty excited and Husband is mostly just putting up with me. I can’t wait to show off her work. Except for the ones where my arms look fat. I’m a little worried about that. But not too worried, apparently, since I’m writing this from the McDonald’s drive-through. You win some, you lose some. Thank God for photoshop.

20120706-113710.jpg

Anyway, back to the blondies. They’re fantastic.

20120706-113714.jpg

m&m blondies
adapted from your homebased mom

1/2 C shortening + 3 tsp water
3/4 C pure cane brown sugar
3/4 C pure cane white sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
2 1/4 c flour
1/2 tsp salt
12 oz M&Ms (one medium bag)
1/3 C white chocolate chips
1/3 C dark chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350
2. Cream together shortening, water, and sugars.
3. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each. Stir in vanilla.
4. Gradually add flour and salt and mix until combined.
5. Fold in M&Ms and chocolate chips. You want to do this by hand with a spoon, because a mixer will break all of the M&Ms. How do I know this? Because I did it…oops.
6. Press into a well-greased pan. I used an 8×8 and they were perfect but thick.
7. Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes or until top is starting to brown (think chocolate chip cookie done-ness.)
8. Happy Friday, July 6th!

(and yes, I realize that it’s not actually the 6th or a Friday when I posted this, but it was when I wrote it, so that’s what you get.)

20120706-113705.jpg

20120706-113720.jpg

2 thoughts on “but i took a nap instead

  1. Pingback: the surprise was foiled but the party was still on « always an adventure

  2. Pingback: a super box/bowl | chuck and welly

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

