lean to the left

20120610-194946.jpg

Husband is the most precious thing ever but sometimes his communication skills leave me shaking my head. He has a habit of opening his mouth in the middle of his thoughts, leaving me really confused about what the topic of conversation actually is.

20120610-194953.jpg

Mostly I think it’s just that his brain moves so much faster than his mouth. Speaking of brains, his is enormous and housed in a giant head which gets pretty heavy for him and thus his poor melon always leans to the left.

20120610-195011.jpg

While laying in bed watching a movie…

(silence)

Husband:I mean, I guess that would be okay.

Me: What would be okay?

Husband: For tomorrow.

Me: Context, please.

Husband: We’ll have to drive two cars to work tomorrow.

Me: Thanks for filling me in, I was a little behind. This happens a lot.

Husband: I was just having a conversation with myself but I guess it happened out loud.

Me: I guess it did.

Husband: That happened to me all the time as a kid, too. We’d be sitting around the dinner table and all of the sudden, everyone would tilt their heads and look at me. That’s how I’d know when to stop talking: everyone leans their head to the left.

Me: (dying laughing) It’s so true!

Husband: Either that or they just always tilted their heads to make me feel better about mine always leaning to the left.

20120610-194950.jpg

20120610-195022.jpg

Sometimes his random thoughts are pretty amazing, like these cookies. Driving home from church today, he blurted “That would be awesome!” Reverse engineering the conversation led to the creation of these “Twix” cookies. Win for him and Husband gets all of the credit for these “miraculous bites of heaven” (his description). Although there aren’t any actual Twix in the cookies, they sure do taste like one!

20120610-195002.jpg

twix cookies

1 C butter, softened
1/4 C pure cane white sugar
1/3 C pure cane brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 C flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/3 C mini chocolate chips
1/4 C caramel pieces, chopped
Rolo candies

1. Cream together butter, sugars, and vanilla.
2. Gradually add in flour, baking powder, and salt.
3. I didn’t have any mini chocolate chips so I threw regular-sized ones and the caramel bits in the food processor and “chopped” them. Whatever you do, this is the step where they go in the dough.
4. Refrigerate dough for at least 30 minutes. This is the hard part!
5. Preheat oven to 325°; unwrap Rolo candies. The step reminds me of why I need children: my hands are too clumsy for candy unwrapping. Growing up, Dad always made us unwrap the Hershey’s kisses and now I understand why.
6. Roll about one Tbsp of chilled dough around a Rolo and place on cookie sheet.
7. Bake at 325° for 12-15 minutes.
8. Let rest on cookie sheet for 2 minutes then feed to Husband.

20120610-194957.jpg

20120610-195006.jpg

One thought on “lean to the left

  1. Pingback: the only three things i’ve accomplished today | always an adventure

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

