stupid happy

20120603-130730.jpg

I invited Ranger and Tonto in for a little taste-test when the cookies were cooled. They were super excited about this and wanted to do all of their tricks at once so that they could get cookies faster. They know that in order to get something, they usually have to do a trick and if food is involved, they must be sitting.

20120603-130759.jpg

20120603-130808.jpg
Poor Tonto was trying to figure out how to sit and lay down and high-five all at the same time but she has a really difficult time keeping all of her feet on the floor at once so it mostly looked like she was having a seizure. I don’t think we’ll ever be able to train the jumping out of her. Husband says she has “mad hops”. I don’t know what that means. By now, she has learned that she’s not allowed to jump on anyone or anything but still can’t keep all four paws on the floor at the same time. We blame the border collie in her.

20120603-130750.jpg

20120603-130814.jpg
Ranger just kept high-fiving Tonto in the face while I tried to take a picture. We blame the golden retriever in him for that one. That dog is dumber than a box of rocks but you won’t find one that’s sweeter or more cuddly. He’s 70lbs of all heart who thinks he’s a lap dog. It’s pretty cute.

20120603-130754.jpg
Back to the cookies…they loved them. I think. They also love eating dirt and rocks and plastic toys and rope and poop and dead squirrels so their taste-testing skills might be a little off. Now that I think about it, I’m not sure they taste anything. If it looks like it might be able to fit in their mouths, they go for it. If it doesn’t look like it will fit, they just chew it ’til it does. We blame the their lab genes for that one.

20120603-130746.jpg

Tonto fell asleep waiting for me to take the picture…

20120603-130846.jpg

Also, these will not poison humans. I left the container on the counter when we had friends over and someone ate one, thinking they were meant for people. He quietly came up to me later and, embarrassed, said that he thought the cookies might have gone bad because, while they weren’t terrible, they weren’t up to my usual standard. I replied that I didn’t make any cookies. He pointed to the jar on the counter and then I understood and felt bad. Next time I’ll label the jar…

20120603-130823.jpg

oatmeal “chocolate chip” puppy cookies

1/3 C peanut butter
1 Tbsp molasses
1 egg
2/3 C unsweetened apple sauce
1 C oatmeal
1 C flour (I used oat but I don’t see any reason why any other kind wouldn’t work)
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 C carob chips (NOT CHOCOLATE. I got these at a local organic market last time we were in Montana. They should be fairly easy to find in your area though.)

1. Preheat oven to 350°
2. Whip peanut butter and molasses together. I find it’s easiest to do this if you microwave it for a few seconds first.
3. Beat in egg and applesauce.
4. Stir in oatmeal, flour, and baking soda.
5. Fold in carob chips.
6. Form dough into ball and place between two pieces of waxed paper. Roll dough to 1/2″ thickness. This is the part where you use your adorable little cookie cutters to make cute shapes. The closest thing I have to adorable is a mini biscuit cutter (no idea why I have that, either) so I used it. Here’s a little secret to make you feel better in case yours aren’t cute: dogs don’t even notice what they look like.
7. Bake for 7-10 minutes or until done. They will be crunchy.
8. Let cool completely but don’t leave them within reach of canines. You will not have any cookies left but your dogs will be stupid happy.

20120603-130734.jpg

20120603-130803.jpg

20120603-130830.jpg

20120603-130841.jpg

2 thoughts on “stupid happy

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

