why i buy in bulk

20120526-232724.jpg

20120526-232706.jpg

Today I bought a 25-lb bag of flour. This might just be the best day of my life. You’d think that since it’s just the two of us, we wouldn’t need to shop wholesale at Sam’s Club. Au contraire, mon ami. We do, in fact, need 157 rolls of toilet paper, 6 tubes of toothpaste, and the 55 gallon drum of laundry soap. This way, I only have to shop once a year. It’s brilliant. Husband likes shopping there because they give him food samples and the couches are conveniently located next to the TVs. And he can buy 5-hour energy by the case. I have no idea why you’d need 180 hours of energy, but he loves the stuff.

20120526-232646.jpg

I love it because I can buy gallons of vanilla, chocolate chips by the truckload, and flour by the pallet. Which should last me about a week. I’m having to redesign the entire pantry to accommodate the sheer volume of baking supplies but after 5 trips to the store for sugar this week and simple cost-analysis, I figured it’s worth it. Husband was too busy visiting the sample ladies to notice.

20120526-232719.jpg

But now I have this huge bag of flour and no place to put it. Which means…pantry clean-out day! Turns out I have an extraordinary amount of half-used bags of baking bits in all varieties. I could see only one solution: cookies. Taking a basic cookie recipe, I added everything I had. Cleaned out an entire shelf. I’m telling you, these cookies have everything. Including the kitchen sink. I was going to call these kitchen sink cookies but that just sounded gross. Or triple-chocolate caramel pecan toffee turtle cookies but that was just ridiculous. Husband proclaimed them terrible and proceeded to eat 10 so that no one else would have to endure them. Or so he said.

20120526-232702.jpg

20120526-232715.jpg

everything cookies

baker’s note: since the whole point of these was to use what I had leftover, the measurements are crazy (and approximate). It’s more about what’s in the cookies than how much. Feel free to use whatever you want. I’m thinking coconut would be great addition for next time…

1 C shortening + 6 tsp water
1 C pure cane brown sugar
3/4 C pure cane white sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
2 C all-purpose flour
1/4 C corn starch
1 1/4 C bread flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1/2 C dark chocolate chips
1/2 C white chocolate chips
1/2 C milk chocolate chips
3/4 C chopped pecans
3/4 C caramel pieces
1/4 C toffee bits
1/3 C milk chocolate and peanut butter chips

1. Preheat oven to 350°
2. Cream together shortening, water, and sugars until fluffy.
3. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each. Stir in vanilla.
4. Gradually stir in flours, corn starch, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Blend well but do not over mix.
5. Dump in all of the good stuff!
6. Roll dough into ping-pong sized balls and place on cookie sheet. Flatten slightly with fingers.
7. Bake at 350° for 10-12 minutes. Cookies should look undercooked but not gooey. Remove from oven and let settle on warm pan for 5 minutes before moving to cooling rack. Or eating.

20120526-232727.jpg

20120526-232652.jpg

2 thoughts on “why i buy in bulk

  1. Thinking of you shopping in bulk at Sam’s….are you your mother’s daughter or what??! These cookies look yummy, Cassie! And I enjoyed reading your blog tonight. Hugs! ~

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

