silly little dudes

20120516-220413.jpg

We were watching a movie tonight and I needed more snacks. I happened to glance out the window on the way to the kitchen tonight and what did I see? A little ducky head with little ducky eyes peering back. Scared the marshmallows right out of me. The ducks aren’t tall enough to see in the window and beady eyes are never something you want to see outside of your window. Turns out, they had rearranged their hay pile to be able to sit on top and see in. Silly little dudes.

Husband: Why did you raise such creeper ducks?
Me: It’s because we let them watch tv when they were little. They miss it. If we’d let them watch more movies, they wouldn’t be so creepy.
Husband: You’re ridiculous. No ducks in the house.

Sorry, Chuck and Welly, I tried.

20120516-220439.jpg

So I missed Mother’s Day this year.  Not really – everyone got wonderful phone calls but I was a little slow on the gift-giving.  The plan was for each mom to get a cookie box because we think they are the “sweetest.”  I didn’t actually get time to bake cookies until Tuesday.  Which is after Sunday.  Oops.  Thankfully we have very sweet and understanding mothers.

20120516-220451.jpg

My mother is not a huge sweets fan.  Unless you count Sweet Tea from McDonalds.  She drinks that stuff by the gallon.  But it has to be half sweet, half regular with extra ice in a styrofoam cup.  Any other way just won’t do.  My poor father suffers from severe I-refuse-to-deal-with-special-orders-itis and so when he orders, it’s never just how Mom wanted it and they have to go all the way back through the drive through so she can order it herself.

20120516-220434.jpg

The whole point of the story is, what do you put in a treat box for a woman who doesn’t like chocolate or alcohol?  I put either one or the other (or usually both) in everything I bake.  Dilemma.  Mom does, however, love lemon bars.  You probably have the weirdest mental image of my mom right now.  It might be accurate but she is one of the most amazing people I know and I’ll have to tell you more about her sometime.  Later.  Right now, cookies.

20120516-220425.jpg
Lemon bars are not ideal for shipping across the country, but I figured that maybe I could put some lemon-y goodness in a cookie and hopefully she wouldn’t send me back through the drive-through.  These turned out perfectly.  Yes, they are quite sweet, but the light lemon flavor makes up for it.  I threw a few white chocolate chips in there because I couldn’t help myself.  And the powdered sugar on the outside just makes them melt in your mouth.  Literally.

20120516-220459.jpg

20120516-220503.jpg

I accidentally dropped a lemon seed somewhere in the batter….never did find it…..

20120516-220359.jpg

white chocolate lemon cookies

adapted from two peas & their pod

1 C shortening
3/4 C pure cane brown sugar
3/4 C pure cane white sugar
zest and juice of two lemons
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
3 C flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 C white chocolate baking chips

1/2 C powdered sugar

1. Preheat oven to 350°
2. Cream together butter, sugars, and lemon juice.
3. Add egg and vanilla and beat well.
4. Gradually stir in flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Mix until well combined.
5. Stir in white chocolate chips and lemon zest.
6. Roll into ping pong-sized balls and roll in powdered sugar. Place on parchment-covered cookie sheet.
6. Bake at 350° for 10 minutes.
7. Let these amazing bits of heaven melt in your mouth.

20120516-220421.jpg

20120516-220629.jpg

All packaged and ready to go!  Don’t be overwhelmed by my fantastic and fancy packaging skills.

That’s sarcasm in case it you missed it.  I have no skills.  Ziploc bags for the win.

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

