jellyfish and tequila

In order to keep ourselves entertained at work, we talk about the weekend. Monday and Tuesday are for talking about the previous one and Wednesday begins the lets-make-plans-for-doing-stuff conversations. This is usually over e-mail, which only adds to the awkwardness because outsiders can’t hear the conversation, just random laughter. Now that I think about it, it’s pretty creepy and our office is full of weirdos. Whatever. Here is today’s gem. I’m 99% sure it’s one of those “you had to be there” things, but maybe you’ll get it.

Coworker: We’re going to Navarre Beach at 1230. Be there or be square.
Husband: Today? No work? Yes!
Coworker: Re-read email.It’s for Saturday, dum dum.
Scrolling through the email chain, the original e-mail now reads: We’re going to Navarre Beach at 1230 on Saturday. Be there or be square. Booyaaaaaaaah.
Husband: What’s with the jellyfish?
original email now reads: We are going to Navarre Beach at 1230 on Saturday. I’ll be providing all the food and beverages your hearts can desire. I will also be wearing a pretty ridiculous swimsuit and I plan on putting a lot of jellyfish down it, so it should be a pretty good show. Be there or be square. Booyaaaaaaaah.
Coworker: Not jelly fish. Jelly and fish.

And then I fell out of my chair laughing. I’m so weird. You’re probably just lost. But keep reading because it gets better. There are cookies…and tequila…

20120509-221419.jpg

MARGARITA COOKIES!

So I’ve been working on these for a while with the intention of making them for Cinco de Mayo but recipe perfection took longer than I anticipated and I’ve just now achieved the goal. Good thing margaritas are good anytime. After a few attempts, the pot of gold was to keep it simple. (I’m sensing a theme?)

20120509-221402.jpg

Basically, I took regular sugar cookies and then made them drunker better. I might not do a lot of actual drinking, but my mixing bowls and baked goods get drunk on a regular basis.  Someone has to use all of that alcohol we bought at the case sale. (Long story involving very cheap, very large bottles.) At this point I should just change the name of this blog to cooking with alcohol.

20120509-221358.jpg

margarita cookies

makes 5 dozen cookies

1 C shortening
1 C pure cane white sugar
1 C pure cane brown sugar
3 Tbsp margarita concentrate (I used frozen)
2 Tbsp tequila
1 tsp vanilla
3 eggs
zest of one lime
4 C all purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp cream of tartar
1 tsp salt

colored sugar

2 Tbsp seedless raspberry jam
1 Tbsp tequila
1 Tbsp light corn syrup
2 Tbsp margarita concentrate
splash of lime juice
1 1/2 C powdered sugar

1. Preheat oven to 350
2. Cream shortening and sugars. Add margarita concentrate, tequila, and vanilla. Mix until well combined.
3. Beat in eggs one at a time.
4. Gradually stir in lime zest, flour, baking soda, cream of tartar, and salt. Stir until well blended.
5. Chill dough for as long as you have patience. For me this is about 3 minutes.
6. Form dough into golf-ball sized balls and roll in colored sugar.
7. Flatten dough and place on cookie sheet. Bake at 350 for 8 minutes. Allow to cool on rack for 2 minutes, then move to wire rack until completely cool.
8. In small bowl, mix raspberry jam, tequila, corn syrup, margarita concentrate and lime juice. I found it easiest to microwave the mixture for about 20 seconds and then stir. Mix in powdered sugar.
9. Glaze cooled cookies and munch away!

20120509-221435.jpg

I used a lime colored sugar which looked beautiful in the bowl, but lost its color when I baked it.  I recommend something with a very intense color.

20120509-221411.jpg

Cooled and ready for glaze!

20120509-221407.jpg

20120509-221415.jpg


I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

