i may not be hilarious, but i can make muffins

I said some pretty hilarious things today which, I felt, needed to be shared.  But now I can’t remember them.  Drat.

Me: What were we talking about earlier when I was being so funny?
Husband: You weren’t being funny, you were just laughing.
Me: I know, because I’m hilarious.
Husband: You’re not hilarious, you just think you are.
Me: You laugh at me.
Husband: Exactly…I mean with you. I laugh with you.
Me: Except that I’m never laughing when you are…this explains a lot.

Then Husband started laughing. I just felt awkward.

So I baked something.

20120430-180534.jpg

These are my newest, and now most requested, take-to-work item.  They combine all of Husband’s favorite things: muffins, crumb topping, sugar, and berries. Absolutely amazing. I took a basic lemon crumb recipe from Taste of Home and added blackberries because that could only make it better!

20120430-180525.jpg

20120430-180701.jpg

The blackberries I found at our grocery store were HUGE so instead of folding them in, I whipped them up a little to break them more thoroughly into the batter.  Otherwise it would have just been one berry in the middle of an awkward muffin.

20120430-180639.jpg

lemon blackberry crumb muffins

muffins:
4 eggs
1 C low-fat sour cream
1 C butter, melted
1 tsp vanilla
2 Tbsp lemon juice
3 C flour
1 1/2 C pure cane white sugar
1 tsp baking soda
pinch salt
1 C blackberries, rinsed and drained
zest of two lemons

crumb topping:
3/4 C flour
1/2 C pure cane white sugar
1/4 C cold butter

glaze:
1/2 C pure cane white sugar
1/3 C lemon juice

1. Preheat oven to 350
2. Beat eggs, sour cream, butter, vanilla, and lemon juice together
3. Gradually add in flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt. Mix until well combined.
4. Fold in blackberries and lemon zest.
5. In food processor, blend ingredients for crumb topping until well combined.
6. Fill muffin cups with approx 1/3 C of batter and top with about 1 Tbsp crumb topping.
7. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
8. Whisk sugar and lemon juice together and drizzle over warm muffins
9. Serve warm.

20120430-180529.jpg

I meant to take some pictures of the finished, gorgeous muffins but when I returned from looking for the camera, they were all gone.  Oops.

One thought on “i may not be hilarious, but i can make muffins

  1. Pingback: i’m an addict « always an adventure

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

