i’m an addict

Hi. My name is Cass and I’m a baking addict. It has been 15 minutes since my last batch of baked goods.

Seriously.

20120425-201737.jpg

I have literally baked all weekend long so you’d think I’d want a break. Nope. Immediately after getting home from work today, I started browsing recipes and taking inventory of the pantry. It was like I couldn’t help myself. Scary. But happy in that it led me to this amazingness currently cooling on the counter. Husband is very grateful for the baked goodness even if it means that the kitchen is currently resembling a war zone and he has to run a few extra miles to work off all of the calories. I rationalize my addiction by saying that the attendees of the conference at work need goodies. I can’t have them going hungry! So far this week, I have fed them lemon blackberry crumb muffins, blueberry muffins, drunken chocolate cookies, gluten-free tiramisu cupcakes, gluten-free cinnamon toffee scones, gluten-free mimosa cupcakes (recipes and posts coming soon!) and now these. I think I’m done. I should just start wearing my apron to work. Or better yet, they should just start paying me to stay home and bake.

20120425-201755.jpg

browned butter cinnamon apple coffee cake

muffins:
1/2 C + 2 Tbsp butter
1 C pure cane brown sugar
1/2 C pure cane white sugar
2 eggs
1 C low-fat sour cream
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 C flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 Tbsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
2 large apples, peeled, cored, and cubed

crumb topping:
1/3 C pure cane white sugar
1/2 C flour
2 tsp cinnamon
3 Tbsp cold butter

glaze:

1/2 C pure cane brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla
2 Tbsp water

1. Preheat oven to 350
2. In small saucepan, simmer butter over medium heat until browned (but not burned!)
3. Cream together butter and sugars. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each.
4. Stir in vanilla and sour cream and mix until well blended
5. Gradually add dry ingredients and stir until combined
6. Fold in apples
7. In separate bowl, mix together sugar, flour, and cinnamon for crumb topping. Cut in butter until well-combined but still crumbly.
8. Fill muffin cups with about 1/3 C of batter and top with about 1 Tbsp of crumb topping. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
9. Whisk together glaze ingredients and drizzle on top of warm muffins.

20120425-201748.jpg

I realized after I chopped all of the apples that I forgot to peel them.  Oops.  I’m pretty lazy so I baked them with peels on (which is probably poisonous or something).  Husband said he couldn’t tell and they were delicious anyway.  Which means that I will probably “forget” to peel them from now on….don’t judge….

20120425-201800.jpg

20120425-201838.jpg

This batter is AMAZING.  Smooth, creamy, and cinnamon-y!

20120425-201853.jpg

And then, just to prove that it is spring and I have gotten out of the kitchen at least once this week, here are the flowers currently blooming on my front porch.  Don’t even get me started on how excited I am that I managed to grow something.

20120425-202242.jpg

One thought on “i’m an addict

  1. Pingback: it’s been a long time coming. « always an adventure

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

