i think i’ve died and gone to heaven

20120421-145857.jpg

It’s that time of the week where I happily forget I have an actual job and spend all day drinking in the kitchen and dreaming of having my own bakery. Thanks to Pinterest, I found Betty Crocker’s website of cupcake heaven. That woman is amazing. I wish I were half that creative and awesome. The best part? All of the recipes are super easy and phenomenal. Yes!!! Thank goodness for simplicity. When I’m trying out a new gluten-free recipe (or making one up), I usually find that staying simple often works out the best.

20120422-162847.jpg

Anyway, Betty Crocker has gluten-free tiramisu cupcakes. Let me say that one more time so you understand: gluten-free. tiramisu. cupcakes. I think all of my dreams have come true. And it’s from a mix! Can life get any easier?! After trying 4 grocery stores, I finally found one that had the mix called for in the recipe and made it according to the directions on the website. They turned out pretty much amazing but I felt like I could do slightly better. And that mix was entirely too expensive to fuel my new tiramisu cupcake addiction. So I made one up myself. It worked, hallelujah. I don’t think I will ever again try to make another dessert. You couldn’t even tell it was gluten-free. All I could taste was awesome. PLEASE, PLEASE MAKE THESE IMMEDIATELY. Everyone will love you for it.

20120421-145922.jpg

The recipe below is for the cupcakes I made which are especially fantastic, but I still 100% recommend the one from the Betty Crocker website. And without further ado, here are the best cupcakes you will ever eat.

20120421-145903.jpg

gluten-free tiramisu cupcakes

adapted from Betty Crocker
makes one dozen cupcakes

1 pkg gluten-free cake mix
1/3 C oil
2/3 C water
3 eggs, beaten
3 tsp vanilla

3 tbsp brewed espresso, cold
3 tbsp Kahlua

1 C heavy whipping cream
4 oz mascarpone cheese (1/2 of a container)
3 tbsp Kahlua
2 tbsp brewed espresso, cold
1/2 C powdered sugar

dark chocolate cocoa powder

1. Preheat oven to 350
2. Mix together cake mix, oil, water, vanilla, and eggs in electric mixer on low speed until blended. Then beat on medium speed for two minutes.
3. Pour about 1/4 C of batter into prepared cupcake pan and bake for 20 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Allow to cool for a couple of minutes in the pan, then transfer to wire rack to cool completely.
4. Mix 3 tbsp each of espresso and Kahlua and brush over cupcakes with a basting brush. I gave each cupcake two passes, but use as much, or as little, as you like. I had a little mixture left over and used that as part of the frosting.
5. Beat whipping cream in electric mixer on high until stiff. Add mascarpone, powdered sugar, Kahlua and espresso. Again, I used whatever I had left from step 4 and just added a little more of each (Kahlua and espresso) until I reached about 5 tbsp.
6. Frost cupcakes with cream mixture and top with dark chocolate cocoa powder.
7. Keep cupcakes refrigerated until serving. Or so I’ve been told. There wasn’t any time between frosting and eating around here!

20120421-145954.jpg

20120421-145938.jpg

20120421-145945.jpg

20120421-145933.jpg

2 thoughts on “i think i’ve died and gone to heaven

  1. Pingback: happy not-belated easter | always an adventure

  2. Pingback: thankfully, i happen to be married to a beer snob | always an adventure

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

