we’re going to need more coffee

20120415-160434.jpg

I’ve been dreaming all week of creating a raspberry-filled lemonade cupcake. Literally dreaming. Moist, light, lemon-y cake with a thin fresh raspberry filling, topped with a pink lemon mousse. Almost more of a mini layer cake than a cupcake. I’m drooling just thinking about it.

20120415-192925.jpg

Today I found out about this thing called an evening. I’m still not sure what it actually is since I work all of the time, but figured it should probably be filled with cupcakes. Since these raspberry lemonade creations were my idea, I was going to make them gluten-free so, for once, I could actually enjoy something I make.

20120415-001316.jpg

I feel like I need to turn this label from my flour into a t-shirt. Or just get it tattooed on my forehead…

I made the requisite run to the grocery store for supplies, visions of fresh, red, ripe raspberries dancing in my head. I got to the store, no berries.”Fine,” I thought, “I’ll make do with frozen.” No joy. “No way, grocery store, you can’t win that easily. Raspberry preserves it is.” None of those either. The only thing on the shelf besides grape and strawberry was this black raspberry fake stuff. “Really, Florida?!” Sometimes living in the “sunshine state” isn’t all sunny. Especially if you love cooking, fresh food, have to eat weird flour, and want to wear something not from Wal-Mart.

I was still bound and determined to make this happen. I also thought that this would be a stellar time to try out this new GF flour blend from the new book Husband got me. I tried this recipe, and this one. And they turned out like this:

20120415-001342.jpg

Drat. This is why all humans attached to gluten-sensitive tummies are angry, emaciated, soul-less people. No cupcakes.

Now it’s 11pm and I had yet to create an actual cupcake. “Mission Control, we’re going to need more coffee.”

20120415-001320.jpg

Recognizing defeat, I resorted to my last-ditch effort: the box mix. My baking skills took a serious beating today.

20120415-001502.jpg

So, although I cannot claim these as my own creations, I did make them and everyone said they were delicious. Of course I didn’t get to have any.

20120415-192915.jpg

raspberry lemonade cupcakes

from food.com

cupcakes:
2/3 C frozen lemonade concentrate, thawed
1 box yellow cake mix
8 oz sour cream
3 oz cream cheese
3 eggs

raspberry preserves for filling

frosting:
buttercream frosting (You could be high-speed and make your own, or just buy the jar kind. I don’t know any lazy bakers who would do that, though…)
2 tbsp lemon juice
2 tbsp raspberry preserves
pink food dye

1. Preheat oven to 350
2. Combine lemonade concentrate, cake mix, sour cream, cream cheese, and eggs.
3. Fill cupcake tins 3/4 full and bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
4. While cupcakes are baking, whip together all frosting ingredients.
5. Allow cupcakes to cool, then fill with approx 1 tsp raspberry preserves using piping bag and injector tip. After several trial-and-error methods, I figured out that this method gets the best distribution of filling with the least mess and work.
6. Frost and watch sadly as everyone else eats them and proclaims them delicious.

20120415-001423.jpg

filled and ready for frosting!

20120415-001528.jpg

UPDATE: Still upset at my lack of GF cupcake production, I mashed all of the lemon cake recipes I could find together to create a Frankenstein’s Monster of Lemon Cupcakes. I have no idea what I’ve done. Someone who actually knows how to bake will see this and have an aneurism. But these little guys smelled delicious and looked more like cupcakes than anything else I had managed to produce. I hesitantly took a bite. And you know, they tasted AMAZING. I can’t remember the last time I had a cupcake, much less one that tasted like something edible. I’m still not satisfied with the result texture-wise but the taste is spot on. Even Husband couldn’t tell it was gluten-free. Stay tuned for more experimentation.

20120415-160440.jpg

deliciously disastrous lemonade cupcakes

2 3/4 C GF cake flour (see recipe at the end of this post)
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cream of tartar
3/4 C butter, softened
1 C white sugar
1 C brown sugar
2 eggs + 2 yolks
zest of two lemons
1/4 C lemon juice
1 tsp vanilla
1 C buttermilk

1. Preheat oven to 325
2. Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cream of tartar. Set aside.
3. Cream together butter and sugars. Add eggs one at a time, beating well.
4. Add lemon zest, lemon juice, and vanilla.
5. Gently stir in flour and buttermilk, alternating between each. Mix only until combined.
6. Bake at 325 for 18-20 minutes.
7. See above for filling and frosting.
8. EAT AND ENJOY! It might be the only cupcake you get this year.

20120415-001337.jpg

Frankenstein cupcakes. Weird, but they work. Kinda…

20120415-001413.jpg

gluten-free cake flour blend
1 C brown rice flour
1/2 C oat flour
3/4 C sorghum flour
1/2 C corn starch
1/4 C potato starch
2 tbsp potato flour
1 tsp xanthan gum

UPDATE: It is now Saturday and I am trying these again. I’m going to make these cupcakes if it kills me. This recipe, made with my own secret-y version of cake flour (which is only a secret because I can’t remember the ratios), still tastes DELICIOUS but has a slight deflation problem. They start out beautiful and then completely deflate with 2 minutes left to bake. WTF, cupcakes?! So I just put some extra frosting on top and called it good. I think I’m pretty much done with this project. You win, gluten, you win.

20120415-001545.jpg

lemonade cupcakes

from themeaningofpie. It’s her recipe, I just made it gluten-free.
makes one dozen cupcakes

1 stick of butter, softened
3/4 C sugar
zest of one lemon
1/3 C frozen lemonade concentrate, thawed
2 tbsp lemon juice
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 C sour cream
1/4 C milk
1 1/2 C GF cake flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda

1. Preheat oven to 350
2. Combine flour, baking powder, and baking soda. Set aside.
3. Cream butter and sugar together. Add lemon zest, egg, and vanilla.
4. Add lemonade concentrate and lemon juice. The batter will be the weirdest consistency you have ever seen. Keep going, it will be okay.
5. Add sour cream and mix.
6. Gently stir in flour and milk, alternating between each.
7. Bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
8. Give up, fill and frost. Eat them anyway because they’re delicious.

20120415-001346.jpg

Flavor: excellent
Cupcake-ness: fail

20120415-001538.jpg

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

