this is why i need children

20120408-002108.jpg

When I was 11, I made up this recipe(I use that term loosely. Mostly I’ve just never been able to figure out where in the world I got it) and won a blue ribbon at the state fair. My first award-winning cookies and I was hooked on baking. Gleefully ignoring that I was the only one in the category, I have continued to make them for years.

20120408-002031.jpg

I usually use the itty-bitty chocolate chips and a Hershey kiss on the inside but didn’t have any of those things and refused to leave the house again. What I did have were regular-sized chocolate chips and Reese’s eggs cleverly hidden in my secret stash away from prying and judgmental Husband eyes. So I put the chocolate in the Ninja and the eggs in the cookies, proving that anything is delicious as long as it contains chocolate and you can put just about anything in shortbread.

20120408-002044.jpg

I got a hand cramp halfway through the bag though. I’ve decided that’s why I need children: to unwrap my chocolate for me. Their tiny fingers are much better suited to such delicate work.

20120408-002148.jpg

Side note, I think I am single-handedly keeping the Hershey company in business. You should see the amount of Hershey bars, kisses, and Reese’s eggs I go through on a weekly basis. It’s un-called for and ridiculous. They should just make me co-owner already and send me shipments direct from the factory. Save everyone some time.

20120408-002058.jpg

shortbread surprise cookies

1 C shortening (I almost always use shortening instead of butter because I like the taste and texture of the cookies better but feel free to substitute as desired, just omit water.)
6 tsp water
1/4 C pure cane white sugar
1/4 C pure cane brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 C flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 C mini chocolate chips (or regular-sized ones chopped up in your Ninja)
1 pkg Reese’s peanut butter eggs

1. Preheat oven to 300
2. Cream shortening, water, sugars, and vanilla together.
3. Gradually add in flour, baking powder, and salt. Mix until well combined.
4. Stir in mini chocolate chips.
5. Form spoonfuls of dough around unwrapped peanut butter eggs. I started out just using enough dough to cover the eggs, but then I started running low (maybe because I was eating every other one) so my cookies gradually got bigger and bigger…
6. Place on cookie sheet and bake at 300° for 15 minutes.
7. Eat one and think about the possibilities of other awesome stuff you can put in shortbread.

helpful hint: The dough will keep its shape better if you refrigerate it before baking, but I’m always way too impatient for that and have settled for less-than-round shortbread.

20120408-002051.jpg

20120408-002125.jpg

20120408-002216.jpg

the aftermath

20120408-002201.jpg

I had a cute little set up with a glass of milk but Husband drank it while my back was turned, replaced it with a beer, took this picture and said it was more realistic.

 

One thought on “this is why i need children

  1. Pingback: finally catching up « always an adventure

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

