me, that cake, and a fork

Just in time for Easter….barely….

A couple of weeks ago, I found this adorable Bunny Butt Cake from Betty Crocker and immediately decided we needed to have an Easter party. Not because I particularly care about Easter parties, but because I couldn’t rationalize making an entire cake for just the two of us and I really wanted this cake.

Husband’s response: “just if the only people you invite are me, that cake, and a fork.”

20120407-203717.jpg

So much for that. Several convoluted e-mail chains later, a dozen or so of us managed to procure a boat for the day as well as mass quantities of mimosa ingredients. Only one problem – cute cakes and boats and alcohol are never a good mix. I had to make this cake though because that was the whole reason for the party! Solution: cupcakes. Much more boat-friendly. Husband demanded carrot cake, and I just couldn’t say no. I only make him carrot cake twice a year: Easter and his birthday. Carrot cake is probably my least favorite of all cakes and I always end up absolutely destroying my kitchen every time I make it. It’s just too much effort for not enough satisfaction in my opinion. I will say, that even though I’m not a fan (not to mention I don’t even bother making it gluten-free so can’t eat it anyway), many sources report this to be THE BEST carrot cake of all time. I didn’t even have to pay them.

20120407-203727.jpg

carrot crack cake

(Husband’s title. Not mine)

adapted from SGCC
2 1/2 C flour
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
4 large eggs, beaten until frothy
1 C oil (sometimes I do half oil, half applesauce if I have applesauce in the fridge)
1 C pure cane white sugar
1 C pure cane brown sugar
1/2 C buttermilk
8oz (one small can) crushed pineapple, drained
2 tsp vanilla
2 1/2 C shredded carrots
1 C chopped walnuts
1/3 C shredded coconut
zest of one orange

1. Preheat oven to 350
2. Beat the eggs until frothy. Add sugars, oil, buttermilk, vanilla, and pineapple. Stir until fully combined.
3. Gradually add dry ingredients: flour, baking powder, cinnamon, baking soda, salt, ginger, and nutmeg. Mix until completely incorporated.
4. Stir in carrots, walnuts, coconut, and orange zest.
5. Pour into prepared cake/muffin pan. I use 1/4 C of batter for each cupcake.
6. Bake at 350° for 25 minutes (for cupcakes) or until toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.
7. Allow to cool in the pan or a few minutes before transferring to a wire rack to finish cooling. Decorate as desired. In this case, as bunny butts.

20120407-203809.jpg

bunny butt cupcakes

20120407-203732.jpg

Naturally I do things as painless as possible and buy pre-made cream cheese frosting. Sure I can make my own but that’s a lot more work than I wanted to commit to this project. Especially when the canned kind tastes so good. I do add a splash of orange extract to the jar to spice it up a little though. I’m not even going to try to give you an ingredient list because I used what I found in the pantry and didn’t attempt to measure anything. Follow along or make up your own steps (it’ll probably turn out better anyway).

20120407-203904.jpg

Use food dye to color cream cheese frosting and some coconut flakes green for grass base. Since I plan for nothing, I naturally ran out of green food dye and creatively thought I’d just mix blue and yellow. It worked…kinda…some of my coconut flake grass ended up being more tye-dye but I guess it looks more like my yard that way. It’s not actually green either…Anyway, frost those cupcakes and dust with coconut flakes.

20120407-203758.jpg 20120407-203744.jpg 20120407-203846.jpg

My original idea was to use frosting to create the whole bunny, and that worked okay, but then I got lazy and found some marshmallows. Obviously it would be stupid to continue to use the frosting. Tear the marshmallows in half. Instant bunny-butt. I did pipe small circles of cream cheese frosting for feet and a little dollop on top for the tail. I experimented with putting some coconut flakes and sugar sprinkles on the tail but the general concensus was to leave them plain.

20120407-203926.jpg

Make little dots for paws with pink piping gel. No store around here had that (have I mentioned the backwoods Florida, issue?) but they had some weird confetti gel thing. It was okay, but next time I’m in the vicinity of a baking store, I’m going to get some real stuff to use next time.

20120407-203739.jpg

And voila, bunny butt cupcakes! Don’t try to tell me these are not the cutest things ever. I won’t believe you. I think they’re pretty darn cute. (And easy!) Even if they are carrot cake.

20120407-203831.jpg


3 thoughts on “me, that cake, and a fork

  1. Pingback: happy not-belated easter | always an adventure

  2. Pingback: man things | always an adventure

  3. Pingback: darn. all out of cupcakes. | chuck and welly

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

