finally catching up

20120407-231818.jpg

Today was bake-a-palooza which usually coincides with day-without-5-minutes-to-catch-my-breath. My timing is impeccable. Here is a rough outline of my day: woke up. Husband got this new app which supposedly wakes you gently with soothing noises at the right point in your sleep cycle. I think it’s a load of crap because I was vaulted from coma-state by chirping birds two hours before I needed to be awake. Husband slept through the whole thing and only got up when I kicked him to shut off the damn birds. Then I took a shower. Halfway through Husband comes bounding in and wants to take me on a breakfast coffee date. Except that we have to leave in 5 minutes and I still have 23 to go in my morning routine. He says to just rinse out my hair and put on sweatpants because that’s what I’d do 23 minutes later anyway. This made me wonder what I usually look like and said this had better be the best dang cup of coffee ever. (It was). Then I started a batch of cookies, realized I had 15 more minutes, and started a second batch. I took the bro to the airport but he needed breakfast first so we stopped and Chick-fil-A. On the way back home I stopped for another cup of coffee (if you’re keeping count, that’s breakfast number 3) and groceries, got home and realized I had 40 whole minutes and baked a 3rd batch of cookies. Went to the store (#2), went to work, ran home and took the dogs to get shots.

20120407-231830.jpg
Conveniently, Husband had a meeting and couldn’t help me. Sneaky dude. If you want a good laugh, park outside of a vet’s office in the pouring rain and wait for a lady wearing sweatpants to arrive 15 minutes late for her appointment with two giant dogs who don’t like the vet. One of them will wrap his leash around her legs while the other one runs in the opposite direction. By the time the lady gets untangled, she is 20 minutes late for her appointment and soaking wet. While trying to wrangle them inside, she will probably trip over one of them and get tackled by the other one. Laugh away, people, and be glad it isn’t happening to you.
After the vet, I took the dogs home and went back to work, then to my soccer game (which we won), then grocery store again (#3), wrote a paper about Russian arms dealers and read a book about Columbus, went back to the store (#4), baked more stuff and improved the best cookies ever, ate some cookies and called it dinner, got carpal tunnel from writing about my day, and collapsed into bed. That about sums it up. Thanks for playing.

20120407-231411.jpg

Since so much baking happened, many posts also need to happen. Easier said than done and it’s taken me a week to get to the first one. I apologize to your e-mail inbox for filling it up so suddenly and quickly. I thought about saving some of these upcoming posts for a rainy day but then realized that I’d most likely forget I ever wrote them and should do this while I have time. Anyway, I baked s’more cookies, flourless peanut butter ones, peanut butter filled chocolate chip shortbread, and these orange dream cookies Since these were Husband’s favorite (he says of ALL TIME), they get the honor of being the first post.

20120407-231852.jpg

orange dream cookies

adapted from Baked Perfection
1 C shortening
6 tsp water
1/2 C pure cane white sugar
1/2 C pure cane brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 tsp orange extract
2 1/2 C flour
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
zest of two oranges
2 C white baking chips

1. Preheat oven to 375
2. Cream shortening, water, and sugars together. Add egg and extracts and beat well.
3. Gradually add dry ingredients: flour, baking soda, and salt. Mix until completely incorporated.
4. Stir in orange zest and baking chips.
5. Place tablespoons of dough onto parchment-lined baking sheets. Bake at 375° for 8-10 minutes or until starting to turn golden brown.
6. Realize you’re going to have to make two batches because Husband ate them all while your back was turned.

20120407-231901.jpg

 

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

