i’m a fully-functioning adult capable of fun

So what’s new? Absolutely nothing. And everything. It’s complicated: I haven’t cooked anything new or done anything remotely crafty but I HAVE signed up for a softball league (I don’t play softball) and 2 5K mud runs (I don’t run either), dedicated the majority of my life to writing papers, redistributed the division of labor in our house (I do laundry, Husband does dishes), and my brother is here for a visit (the cool one who is a bartender in Austin).

20120329-202852.jpg

Since the bro is here, I am doing my best to convince him I’m a fully functioning adult capable of fun. Also, he’s single (hey ladies!) so I feel like I should fatten him up a little with some home-cooking. Husband is rejoicing because it means he also gets to eat. He was so excited, in fact, that he did the grocery shopping and came home with this:

20120329-202835.jpg

the way to a man’s heart

And a promise to do all dishes if I would please make some cookies and cream cookies. How could I say no to that?! So I made some cookies, but you’ve already seen that recipe and I figured we needed some actual food (this conundrum is a common occurrence around these parts). The bro requested chicken and rice casserole and I did a little happy dance. It’s delicious and takes less than 45 minutes from pantry to table and requires less than 10 ingredients (unless you eat gluten-free and then nothing is that simple) and is pretty much foolproof. AKA my dream dinner.

20120329-202846.jpg

chicken and rice casserole

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cooked and shredded
2 tbsp butter
1 box chicken Rice a Roni (see gluten-free option at the end of this recipe)
1 can 98% fat-free cream of chicken soup (GF)
3 tbsp lemon juice
1 C low-sodium chicken broth
salt and pepper to taste
crushed potato chips or corn flakes

helpful hints: If your chicken is frozen, then boil in a stock pot for approx 20 minutes or until fully cooked. Place chicken in KitchenAid and shred using the cookie paddle attachment. Just turn it on and that shit shreds itself. Brilliant.

1. Make Rice a Roni according to package directions: In large skillet, saute rice and noodles with butter until browned. Add 2 C water and seasonings and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, stirring occasionally, until water is completely absorbed and rice is fully cooked.
2. Remove from heat and stir in shredded chicken, cream of chicken soup, lemon juice, chicken broth, and salt and pepper.
3. Pour into casserole dish and top with a layer of crushed potato chips or corn flakes.
4. Bake at 350° for 15-20 minutes. Don’t even bother getting out the Tupperware because there will not be any leftovers. Especially if there is a 22-year-old hungry kid in your house.

20120329-202911.jpg

Gluten-free Chicken Rice a Roni

1 C rice
1/4 C GF spaghetti, broken into small sections
1 tsp Italian seasoning
3 crushed chicken bullion cubes
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1/4 tsp paprika

Mix rice and spaghetti noodles together and combine seasonings and store in separate air-tight containers. Voila! Easy meals! Make according to directions above: saute rice/pasta, add water and seasonings, cover and simmer until fully cooked.

One thought on “i’m a fully-functioning adult capable of fun

  1. Pingback: baby food one-oh-one (the hunter house version) | chuck and welly

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

