and the winner is…

20120311-211140.jpg

I would like to nominate myself for most awesome person ever. (I guess I’ve gotten over that self-confidence issue.) Today I completed every bit of laundry in the house, cleaned it thoroughly, played with the dogs, watched a movie, baked two batches of cookies, finished my homework, planted flowers (for the 5th time this month. They keep dying.), filled out my March Madness bracket (Husband is getting dominated again this year), and wrote not one, but TWO posts. See – awesome. It’s amazing what Husband coming home, 8 cups of coffee and a bubble bath do for my day. I may or may not have forgotten to eat today or get out of sweatpants, but hey – pick your battles.

It’s time for my monthly box of baked goods to make it’s way to Afghanistan. Well, actually, that time was 2 weeks ago and I’m just now getting to it. But anyway, that brings me to the topic of cookie recipes. Although chocolate chip are always a winner, I try to send something a little different every time. Also, having my critics half a world away really helps my ratings and self-esteem. They can’t exactly come after me with pitchforks when the cookies are bad. Also, ANYTHING is an improvement over MREs so it’s a win-win. If you love to bake and want to feel awesome about your cooking skills (I’ve had 8 marriage offers so far), then let me know and I’ll hook you up with a hungry soldier. Also, I’m always in the market for new cookie recipes so send those along too!

This month’s winner: Cookies and Cream Cookies. Sadly, I did not make a gluten-free batch but just swap out the flour for Jules’ Gluten-Free and you’ll be all set. Oh, and figure out what do about Oreos. And pudding. Okay, so maybe you should just stay away from these. It’ll make your pants fit better, anyway. But regular tummies approved.

cookies and cream cookies

1 C shortening
6 tsp water
3/4 C packed brown sugar
1/4 C pure cane white sugar
1 (4.2 oz) pkg Oreo instant pudding
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2 1/4 C all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
pinch salt
1/2 C white baking chips
1/2 C dark chocolate chips
2 pkgs Oreos. one for this recipe and one for you to eat while you make it.

1. Preheat oven to 350
2. In mixing bowl, blend shortening, water, and sugars until creamy.
3. Add pudding and mix well.
4. Add eggs and vanilla. Same story.
5. Slowly add flour, baking soda, and salt. Combine well.
6. Separate Oreos and place each half on a baking sheet. Roll dough into golf-ball sized balls and place on each Oreo half. Flatten slightly with fingers.
7. Bake at 350° for 10 minutes.
7. Serve. Usually cool comes before serving but Husband ate them before I could even set the pan down.

20120311-211100.jpg

One thought on “and the winner is…

  1. Pingback: just when you think you know a person | always an adventure

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

