i fully expect our sink to start sprouting basil

20120214-191908.jpg

Recently, I cleaned out the fridge. Scary. I should have left that for Halloween. Too frightening for February. February should be about love and stuff. Not scary refrigerators. But the moral of the story is I had to throw out a ton of food. Mostly herbs since I like fresh ones but only use a tablespoon. What a waste of cilantro. Ugh. And it makes my fridge smell weird. I have the least green thumb ever but figured I’d try growing my own. Hahahaha. I’m hilarious. But really, I’m going to try this. I’ll let you know how it goes. So far, its awesome. I only managed to get dirt all over the kitchen and spill seeds everywhere. I fully expect our disposal to sprout basil any day now.

20120214-191938.jpg
I bought this thing because it said “professional” and “easy” and came with a help line. The helpline should have clued me in to it not being as easy as I thought.
Basically, you add water and seeds and it grows all by itself. Or at least that’s what I got out of the “easy growing & planting instructions”.

20120214-191919.jpg
I was supposed to add 2-3 seeds for each little pot thingy but those things are tiny and I figured the more the merrier anyway. If one seed is good and three is awesome, then fifteen should be foolproof.

Besides, these “seeds” look more like rat poop than herbs so the chances of me growing rat poop and not lavender are pretty high. Not surprising.
Here goes nothing.

UPDATE:

great bean sprouts! I’m growing something!
The rat poop has sprouted and there are little green leaves! It’s a miracle! My herb garden is not a failure…yet.

20120218-195515.jpg

UPDATE:

The little dudes have been transferred to big boy pots and I have only killed half of them so far! Still slow growing though

20120415-160654.jpg

UPDATE:

Failure.  They are all dead.  Apparently you’re supposed to water them or something?  Better luck next time….

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

