sugar, spice, and everything nice

Once upon a time, I bought a spice rack from Ikea. This shouldn’t be surprising since I buy everything from Ikea. I was so excited to get all of the mis-matched spice jars and bottles which cluttered up my pantry into neat, uniform rows of colorful little jars. I got as far as dumping spices into the jars. Now, an embarrassing 4 months later, I am finally getting around to labeling them and hanging the spice rack. This shouldn’t be surprising either considering I have the attention span of a goldfish. By this time, of course, I’ve forgotten what most of them are and have made several accidental spice-swaps. Nutmeg and cayenne pepper look frighteningly similar when I’m not wearing my glasses. But you only make that mistake once. Obviously, a labeling system was in order. And of course it had to be cute. And easy to read because I forget my glasses a lot. While perusing Amazon, I happened upon chalkboard contact paper and knew I had struck labeling gold. And did you know they make dry-erase crayons?! Shut the front door. This was going to be a piece of cake.

20120202-225406.jpg
I used a 1-1/2″ circle punch to cut circles from the contact paper (bam!) and a white dry erase crayon to write the names (scribble, scribble!).

20120202-225733.jpg
Peeling the backing off those suckers was more difficult than anticipated but I powered through and managed to stick each label on what I hope is the appropriate jar. If not, our cooking is going to be way more exciting! Now, each little spice soldier is lined up (alphabetically of course) and ready for duty. Huzzah! All for under 1 hour and $30.

20120202-230029.jpg

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

