mmmm…cookies….

Due to an unfortunate circumstance (aka, my job), I haven’t had much free time to remember my name, wash my hair, and grocery shop, much less cook. And blog? Forget about it. But tonight, for the first time in a very long time, I had two consecutive hours to myself. Naturally, I made cookies. Because I like cookies more than I like washing my hair. Since it has been a crazy week, I needed something easy, but delicious. Normally I try to make everything gluten-free and/or healthy but I knew I would eat the whole batch if they were edible for me, so these are full of gluten, fat, and delicious.

I have a weakness for M&M cookies. Especially since, after a very long week starving in the woods for training, Husband once went to extraordinary lengths to bake me some. Bless his heart, they were the most delicious thing I’ve ever eaten. Besides his apple pie, but that’s another story for another post.

Additionally, M&Ms are very festive and it’s coming up on that holiday-that-must-not-be-named. Speaking of which, thinking I was going to be a good wife this year, I went to the hallmark store. Bolstered by coffee and love, I started looking for an overpriced piece of paper to tell Husband how much I love him. I got through 4 before I puked. Who writes that stuff? Here are a few gems:

I never thought I would feel this. I never thought I would know a love so deep I could use the word “forever” and have it seem so true. But I did find that kind of love, I found the one in this world I was made for… I found you.

For yesterday,
for today,
and for all
the thousand
hopeful tomorrows
we will share…
I love you.

gag. Anyway, where was I? Oh yes, COOKIES! So without further ado, here are some wonderful cookies:

20120202-220940.jpg

m&m cookies

1C shortening
splash of water (3 tsp?)
1C brown sugar
1/2C pure cane white sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2 3/4C all purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 pkg milk chocolate M&Ms

1. Preheat oven to 350
2. Mix shortening, water, and sugar until well creamy. Add eggs and vanilla and blend well.
3. Slowly mix in flour, baking soda, and salt.
4. Stir in M&Ms.
5. Drop dough onto cookie sheet and bake at 350° for 10 minutes.
6. Move to wire rack and cool. Yummy!

20120202-221037.jpg

2 thoughts on “mmmm…cookies….

  1. Pingback: that little squish turned me into a puddle of mush | chuck and welly

  2. Pingback: a super box/bowl | chuck and welly

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

